Planet Rugby



Pools for 2013 RWC Sevens

28th February 2013 11:46


Wales sevens squad in Dubai

Defending champions: Wales

The 2013 RWC Sevens draw has thrown up some very exciting match-ups, with Wales facing a tough battle to retain their crown.

This year's event is split into six pools of four teams with the top team from each pool, together with the two best runners-up progressing to Cup quarter-finals.

Wales take on southern hemisphere rivals Fiji and Tonga along with Uruguay in Pool E.

Neighbours USA and Canada will clash in Pool D, alongside New Zealand and Georgia.

Hosts Russia will face a tough challenge in Pool B as they take on South Africa, Scotland and Japan while Pool C will witness another clash of neighbours as African countries Kenya and Zimbabwe battle it out along with Samoa and the Philippines, who became the first national team from their country to qualify for a World Cup.

Elsewhere in the men's draw, Pool F has pitted England alongside Argentina, Portugal and Hong Kong.

Pool A, D and F have three core teams from the HSBC Sevens World Series, while the other three have only two.

Pool A: Australia, France, Spain, Tunisia
Pool B: South Africa, Scotland, Russia, Japan
Pool C: Samoa, Kenya, Zimbabwe, Philippines
Pool D: New Zealand, USA, Canada, Georgia
Pool E: Fiji, Wales, Tonga, Uruguay
Pool F: England, Argentina, Portugal, Hong Kong

  • USA Fixtures
  • USA Results
Recent Results
All times are local
International Match
Saturday , November 1
USA 6 - 74 New Zealand
More International Match results
  • Table
Pool B
World Cup Table
4South Africa00