Planet Rugby



Namibians choose World Cup squad

18th July 2007 22:22


The president of the Namibian Rugby Union announced the squad of 30 players to take part in the 2007 Rugby World Cup, the third in which the Biltongboere have been participants.

Four of the players played at the 1999 World Cup - Herman Lintvelt, Deon Mouton, Hugo Horn en Heino Senekal. Those who played in 2003 are Melrick Africa , Du Preez Grobler, Deon Mouton, Morné Schreuder, Emile Wessels, Kees Lensing, Herman Lintvelt, JM Meyer and Heino Senekal.

Two of the squad, both centres, have never before played for Namibia - Bradley Langenhoven of Pukke en Piet van Zyl of Boland.

A surprise omission is that of Justinus van der Westhuizen who has been playing in the side this year while Emile Wessels, who plays in Australia, has not been.

Kees Lensing, the Sharks' prop will captain the side. Hakkies Husselman is the coach with John Williams to help him.

The Namibian squad is:

Backs: Melrick Africa, Heini Bock, Lu-Wayne Botes, John Drotsky, Du Preez Grobler, Eugene Jantjies, Bradley Langenhoven, Tertius Losper, Deon Mouton, Morné Schreuder, Jurie van Tonder, Piet van Zyl, Emile Wessels, Ryan Witbooi.

Forwards: Skipper Badenhorst, Jacques Burger, Tinus du Plessis, Jané du Toit, Nico Esterhuyse, Hugo Horn, Domingo Kamongo, Uakazuwaka Kazombiaze, Kees Lensing, Herman Lintvelt, Michael MacKenzie, JM Meyer, Jacques Nieuwenhuis, Johnny Redelinghuys, Heino Senekal en Marius Visser.

The side will play against South African Amateurs this Saturday. There was something of a setback when Heino Senekal broke his thumb at practice. He will have to avoid contact for the next six weeks. Apart from missing Senekal this Saturday Namibia will also be without some professional players who play in South Africa.