Planet Rugby

Fiji tackle Kenya in Hong Kong leg

24th March 2014 12:37


Setefano Cakau Tokyo Sevens 2014

Tokyo champions: Fiji

Tokyo Sevens Champions Fiji have been drawn with Kenya, Wales and Sri Lanka for this weekend's Hong Kong leg of the World Series.

Runners-up in Japan, South Africa, head up Pool B alongside Australia, France and Spain, while England face Canada, Argentina and Portugal in Pool C.

New Zealand, beaten by the English in the third-place play-off, must take on the USA, Scotland and Samoa in a tricky Pool D.

Hong Kong Sevens Pools:

Pool A: Fiji, Kenya, Wales, Sri Lanka
Pool B: South Africa, Australia, France, Spain
Pool C: England, Canada, Argentina, Portugal
Pool D: New Zealand, USA, Scotland, Samoa

The draw had previously been made for the 12-team Series core team qualifier, to be played alongside the main competition in Hong Kong.

Two teams have won the right to compete from each of the IRB's six regions, including Tokyo hosts Japan and Hong Kong.

Pool E: Russia, Zimbabwe, Chile, Barbados
Pool F: Hong Kong, Italy, Tunisia, American Samoa
Pool G: Japan, Cook Islands, Uruguay, Trinidad and Tobago