Planet Rugby

Glasgow 2014 Sevens pools confirmed

14th January 2014 13:05


Kyle Brown SA v NZ NMB Sevens Final 2013

Fast-paced: Sevens

The teams and pools for the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games Rugby Sevens have been confirmed by the organisers on Tuesday.

The sixteen teams who will strive for the coveted Gold medal in front of packed audiences at Glasgow's Ibrox Stadium are: Australia, Canada, Cook Islands, England, Kenya, Malaysia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda and Wales.

Reigning champions New Zealand, who have won all four Commonwealth Gold medals to date, have been drawn in Pool A alongside Canada, Nigeria and tournament hosts, Scotland.

Delhi silver medalist Australia and bronze medalist South Africa are top seeds in pools D and B respectively, while other World Series regulars in Samoa, England, Kenya, Wales and Canada will be determined to challenge the dominance of the mighty Sevens All Blacks, whose run of four straight titles began in Kuala Lumpur back in 1998.

The four Pools confirmed by the International Rugby Board and Commonwealth Games Federation are:

Pool A - New Zealand, Canada, Scotland, Nigeria
Pool B - South Africa, Kenya, Cook Islands, Trinidad and Tobago
Pool C - Samoa, Wales, Papua New Guinea, Malaysia
Pool D - England, Australia, Sri Lanka, Uganda

"For 16 years now Rugby Sevens has enjoyed being a key part of the Commonwealth Games," said IRB Chairman Bernard Lapasset.

"To compete alongside their compatriots in a multisport environment is a matter of huge pride and honour for our rugby players, who are making giant strides in this new Olympic era. We wish our Rugby athletes all the best in this magnificent international event."

"Glasgow will welcome many of the world's best Rugby Sevens nations to compete at the Games," added Greg Warnecke, Head of Sport at Glasgow 2014.

"The standard of competition will be world-class, the action is fast-paced and with all of the teams playing in each session of competition, it guarantees a feast of rugby action and a brilliant atmosphere all round."