Planet Rugby

Rush to coach Auckland

28th May 2014 08:23

Share:

Xavier Rush when playing for Auckland

Coaching job: Xavier Rush

Former Auckland and Cardiff Blues number eight Xavier Rush has been named assistant coach at the ITM Cup side ahead of the upcoming season.

The powerful forward, who played 80 times for Auckland in provincial rugby, is added to the coaching staff by new head coach Paul Feeney.

"It is very exciting to be coming back home and working with Auckland Rugby," said eight-cap All Black Rush, speaking to Auckland's website.

"I have many fond memories of my time in the blue and white jersey and can't wait to get stuck in as a part of the coaching team.

Feeney added: "Auckland is delighted to have one of our most popular players on board in a coaching capacity, he's a perfect fit for our coaching group.

"Xavier is well-respected amongst the playing group and beyond the obvious leadership and professionalism he will bring, will be the fresh ideas and perspective he has following his time in Europe."

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
ITM Cup
Wednesday, September 24
North Harbour vs CanterburyNorth Harbour vs Canterbury Preview
Thursday , September 25
Bay Of Plenty vs Northland19:35
Friday , September 26
Taranaki vs Auckland19:35
Saturday , September 27
Waikato vs Manawatu14:35
Counties Manukau vs Wellington17:35
North Harbour vs Hawkes Bay19:35
Sunday , September 28
Tasman vs Otago14:35
Canterbury vs Southland16:35
Wednesday, October 1
Hawkes Bay vs Wellington19:35
Thursday , October 2
Auckland vs Waikato19:35
More ITM Cup fixtures
  • ITM Cup Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
ITM Cup
Sunday , September 21
Otago 38 - 7 WaikatoOtago vs Waikato Report
Wellington 20 - 42 TasmanWellington vs Tasman Report
Saturday , September 20
Hawkes Bay 36 - 17 Bay Of Plenty
Auckland 32 - 7 North HarbourAuckland vs North Harbour Report
Manawatu 36 - 17 Southland
Friday , September 19
Counties Manukau 20 - 28 CanterburyCounties Manukau vs Canterbury Report
Thursday , September 18
Northland 20 - 31 TaranakiNorthland vs Taranaki Report
Wednesday, September 17
Southland 14 - 38 TasmanSouthland vs Tasman Report
Sunday , September 14
Waikato 26 - 21 Counties ManukauWaikato vs Counties Manukau Report
Hawkes Bay 41 - 0 Otago
More ITM Cup results
  • ITM Cup Table
Premiership 2014
ITM Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Canterbury628
2Tasman727
3Taranaki727
4Auckland620
5Waikato715