Planet Rugby

Umaga staying with Counties Manukau

10th April 2014 07:56

Share:

Tana Umaga Counties ITM Cup coach 2013

Work to do: Tana Umaga

Former All Black captain Tana Umaga has decided his coaching future lies in South Auckland by re-signing with the current Ranfurly Shield holders Counties Manukau until 2016.

Umaga is happy to extend his contract as the Head Coach of the Counties Manukau Steelers.

"There is still a lot I want to achieve at this Union. I thoroughly enjoy the environment, the people and the culture we have at Counties," said Umaga.

"Counties Manukau is well known for the talent pool it produces and I take great pride in the challenge of developing young players so they can go on to higher honours."

Counties Manukau CEO Andrew Maddock is pleased to have retained the services of the dynamic coach.

"Tana is hugely respected by our players and our supporters. He has the ability to get the best out of the players and those around him," said Maddock.

"It also offers us continuity and allows Tana to keep building on the good work he has already done."

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
ITM Cup
Wednesday, September 17
Southland vs TasmanSouthland vs Tasman Preview
Thursday , September 18
Northland vs Taranaki19:35
Friday , September 19
Counties Manukau vs Canterbury19:35
Saturday , September 20
Hawkes Bay vs Bay Of Plenty14:35
Auckland vs North Harbour17:35
Manawatu vs Southland19:35
Sunday , September 21
Otago vs Waikato14:35
Wellington vs Tasman14:35
Wellington vs Tasman16:35
Wednesday, September 24
North Harbour vs Canterbury19:35
More ITM Cup fixtures
  • ITM Cup Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
ITM Cup
Sunday , September 14
Waikato 26 - 21 Counties ManukauWaikato vs Counties Manukau Report
Hawkes Bay 41 - 0 Otago
Saturday , September 13
Bay Of Plenty 12 - 27 AucklandBay Of Plenty vs Auckland Report
Southland 36 - 34 Northland
Friday , September 12
North Harbour 24 - 13 Manawatu
Canterbury 46 - 12 WellingtonCanterbury vs Wellington Report
Thursday , September 11
Tasman 30 - 31 TaranakiTasman vs Taranaki Report
Wednesday, September 10
Otago 23 - 40 Northland
Sunday , September 7
Manawatu 26 - 10 Counties ManukauManawatu vs Counties Manukau Report
Saturday , September 6
Auckland 31 - 30 WellingtonAuckland vs Wellington Report
More ITM Cup results
  • ITM Cup Table
Premiership 2014
ITM Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Canterbury524
2Taranaki622
3Tasman517
4Auckland515
5Waikato615