Planet Rugby

Umaga staying with Counties Manukau

10th April 2014 07:56

Share:

Tana Umaga Counties ITM Cup coach 2013

Work to do: Tana Umaga

Former All Black captain Tana Umaga has decided his coaching future lies in South Auckland by re-signing with the current Ranfurly Shield holders Counties Manukau until 2016.

Umaga is happy to extend his contract as the Head Coach of the Counties Manukau Steelers.

"There is still a lot I want to achieve at this Union. I thoroughly enjoy the environment, the people and the culture we have at Counties," said Umaga.

"Counties Manukau is well known for the talent pool it produces and I take great pride in the challenge of developing young players so they can go on to higher honours."

Counties Manukau CEO Andrew Maddock is pleased to have retained the services of the dynamic coach.

"Tana is hugely respected by our players and our supporters. He has the ability to get the best out of the players and those around him," said Maddock.

"It also offers us continuity and allows Tana to keep building on the good work he has already done."

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
ITM Cup
Thursday , August 28
Canterbury vs NorthlandCanterbury vs Northland Preview
Friday , August 29
Wellington vs Manawatu09:35
Saturday , August 30
Counties Manukau vs Hawkes Bay04:35
Southland vs Otago17:35
North Harbour vs Waikato09:35
Sunday , August 31
Taranaki vs Bay Of Plenty14:35
Auckland vs Tasman16:35
Wednesday, September 3
Manawatu vs Bay Of Plenty19:35
Thursday , September 4
Otago vs Canterbury19:35
Friday , September 5
Tasman vs Waikato18:05
More ITM Cup fixtures
  • ITM Cup Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
ITM Cup
Wednesday, August 27
Waikato 17 - 46 TaranakiWaikato vs Taranaki Report
Sunday , August 24
Manawatu 7 - 35 AucklandManawatu vs Auckland Report
Bay Of Plenty 27 - 56 TasmanBay Of Plenty vs Tasman Report
Saturday , August 23
Northland 35 - 5 WellingtonNorthland vs Wellington Report
Counties Manukau 29 - 25 OtagoCounties Manukau vs Otago Report
Friday , August 22
Waikato 27 - 58 CanterburyWaikato vs Canterbury Report
Hawkes Bay 29 - 26 TaranakiHawkes Bay vs Taranaki Report
Thursday , August 21
North Harbour 21 - 25 Southland
Sunday , August 17
Tasman 35 - 15 Hawkes BayTasman vs Hawkes Bay Report
Northland 23 - 28 Manawatu
More ITM Cup results
  • ITM Cup Table
Premiership 2014
ITM Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Canterbury210
2Tasman210
3Taranaki38
4Counties Manukau27
5Auckland25