Planet Rugby

Draw made for ITM Cup

11th March 2014 09:50

Share:

Canterbury ITM Cup Champions 2013

Holders: Canterbury

Taranaki will open this year's ITM Cup campaign by hosting Ranfurly Shield holders Counties Manukau at Yarrow Stadium on Thursday, August 14.

New Zealand Rugby released the draw for the nine-week plus play-offs season on Tuesday.

The first round of the eleven-week competition also sees the Southland Stags hosting the Bay of Plenty Steamers on Friday, August 15.

The weekend sees Auckland go to Christchurch to face Canterbury, the Wellington Lions host the Waikato Mooloos at Westpac Stadium while last year's winners of promotion into the Premiership, Tasman Makos, will host the Hawke's Bay Magpies at Lansdowne Park in Blenheim.

The opening round closes out on Sunday with Northland's Taniwha hosting the Manawatu Turbos at Whangarei's Toll Stadium.

Two teams who felt the elation and heartache of winning then losing the Ranfurly Shield in consecutive matches, will get the first two scheduled Ranfurly Shield challenges of 2014.

Otago's Razorbacks will be the first to get their shot in Week 2 as they try to wrestle the precious Log O' Wood from the Counties Manukau Steelers. The Magpies are next on the draw with a Week 3 challenge, and they will be hoping to settle the score having lost the Shield to Counties Manukau just one week after taking it off Otago last year.

The Steelers fended off three challenges in 2013 from Taranaki, Waikato and Southland before locking up the precious prize for the off-season.

This year's ITM Cup semi-finals will be played in the weekend of October 17, with the ITM Cup Championship Final on Friday, October 24, with the right for promotion up for grabs.

For the full ITM Cup schedule, click here.

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
ITM Cup
Wednesday, September 17
Southland vs TasmanSouthland vs Tasman Preview
Thursday , September 18
Northland vs Taranaki19:35
Friday , September 19
Counties Manukau vs Canterbury19:35
Saturday , September 20
Hawkes Bay vs Bay Of Plenty14:35
Auckland vs North Harbour17:35
Manawatu vs Southland19:35
Sunday , September 21
Otago vs Waikato14:35
Wellington vs Tasman14:35
Wellington vs Tasman16:35
Wednesday, September 24
North Harbour vs Canterbury19:35
More ITM Cup fixtures
  • ITM Cup Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
ITM Cup
Sunday , September 14
Waikato 26 - 21 Counties ManukauWaikato vs Counties Manukau Report
Hawkes Bay 41 - 0 Otago
Saturday , September 13
Bay Of Plenty 12 - 27 AucklandBay Of Plenty vs Auckland Report
Southland 36 - 34 Northland
Friday , September 12
North Harbour 24 - 13 Manawatu
Canterbury 46 - 12 WellingtonCanterbury vs Wellington Report
Thursday , September 11
Tasman 30 - 31 TaranakiTasman vs Taranaki Report
Wednesday, September 10
Otago 23 - 40 Northland
Sunday , September 7
Manawatu 26 - 10 Counties ManukauManawatu vs Counties Manukau Report
Saturday , September 6
Auckland 31 - 30 WellingtonAuckland vs Wellington Report
More ITM Cup results
  • ITM Cup Table
Premiership 2014
ITM Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Canterbury524
2Taranaki622
3Tasman517
4Auckland515
5Waikato615