Planet Rugby

Umaga shows his hand

17th October 2013 07:46


tana umaga counties

Tana Umaga: Minimum changes

Counties Manukau coach Tana Umaga has named his team to face Wellington in the ITM Cup semi-final on Friday in Wellington.

The majority of the team remains the same from the side that locked up the Ranfurly Shield for the summer last week with changes in the front row.

Prop Jarrod Firth moves into the loosehead position and Matt Talaese starts at tighthead, while experienced prop Simon Lemalu comes onto the bench.

"This is a big game for us," said Umaga.

"We have achieved a lot this season but everyone wants to make the top four and we have worked hard to get this opportunity to challenge ourselves again."

Counties Manukau: 15 Ahsee Tuala, 14 Frank Halai, 13 Rey Lee-Lo, 12 Bundee Aki, 11 Toni Pulu, 10 Baden Kerr, 9 Kane Hancy, 8 Fritz Lee (c), 7 Maama Vaipulu, 6 Adam Cathcart, 5 Jimmy Tupou, 4 Ronald Raaymakers, 3 Matt Talaese, 2 Hika Elliot, 1 Jarrod Firth.
Replacements: 16 Suliasi Taufalele, 17 Simon Lemalu, 18 Sikeli Nabou, 19 Mark Selwyn, 20 Lucky Palamo, 21 Ki Anufe, 22 Sam Vaka.

Date: Friday, October 18
Kick-off: 19:35 local (07:35 BST, 06:35 GMT)
Venue: Westpac Cup Stadium, Wellington

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
  • ITM Cup Table
ITM Cup Table
4Counties Manukau1028