Planet Rugby

Preview: Waikato v Taranaki

11th October 2013 16:48


Sam Christie Waikato ITM Cup 2012

Fly-half: Sam Christie

Waikato have made three changes to their side that will tackle Taranaki in their final game of the season, which takes place in Hamilton on Saturday.

Lock Sam Kilgour starts, while Save Tokula is at centre, with Jackson Willison and Sam Christie moving in a spot to give Kylem O'Donnell a run.

Meanwhile, departing utility back Frazier Climo has been given a start at 10 for Taranaki's final match of 2013 as they look to leapfrog Waikato.

The 26-year-old has played all of his seventeen matches for Taranaki on the wing, despite his extensive fly-half experience at club level.

He leaves to take up a two-year deal with the Scarlets at the end of the month and is one of five changes made by Colin Cooper.

In come Ryan Cocker, Timo Tutavaha, Jarrad Hoeata, Berny Hall and Climo, while out go Carl Carmichael, Rhys Marshall, James Broadhurst, Nemia Soqeta and Beaudein Waaka.

The teams:

Waikato: 15 Trent Renata, 14 Kylem O'Donnell, 13 Save Tokula, 12 Jackson Willison (c) 11 Semisi Masirewa, 10 Sam Christie, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Adam Burn, 7 Zak Hohneck, 6 Rory Grice, 5 Sam Kilgour, 4 Whetu Douglas, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Brayden Mitchell, 1 Toby Smith.
Replacements: 16 Vance Elliott, 17 Paul Alo-Emile, 18 Josh Tyrell, 19 Zane Kapeli, 20 Jono Armstrong, 21 Wharenui Hawera, 22 Joe Perawiti.

Taranaki: 15 Kurt Baker, 14 Andre Taylor, 13 Seta Tamanivalu, 12 Isaia Tuifua, 11 Jackson Ormond, 10 Frazier Climo, 9 Chris Smylie, 8 Blade Thomson, 7 Doug Tietjens, 6 Berny Hall, 5 Kane Barrett (c), 4 Jarrad Hoeata, 3 Ryan Cocker, 2 Timo Tutavaha, 1 Sione Lea.
Replacements: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 Carl Carmichael, 18 James Broadhurst, 19 Mitchell Crosswell, 20 Jamison Gibson-Park, 21 Daniel Brooks, 22 Ope Peleseuma.

Date: Saturday, October 12
Kick-off: 19:35 local (08:35 BST)
Venue: Waikato Stadium, Hamilton
Referee: Shane McDermott

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
  • ITM Cup Table
ITM Cup Table
4Counties Manukau1028