Planet Rugby

Preview: Bay of Plenty v Waikato

04th October 2013 14:01


Jackson Willison for Waikato

Back as captain: Jackson Willison

Waikato have named their squad to take on Bay of Plenty in their ITM Cup Premiership encounter in Tauranga on Saturday.

The Mooloo Men are bolstered by the return of several key players who missed the midweek defeat against Tasman, including captain Jackson Willison.

Prop Toby Smith and scrum-half Brad Weber, who both had strong impacts off the bench against Tasman, are back into the starting line-up.

Meanwhile Bay of Plenty have four changes to their line-up after suffering a narrow 31-30 loss to Counties Manukau on Sunday. Amongst the backs,

Sam Beard replaces Nick Evemy at inside centre while Josh Hall takes over from Samisoni Fisilau at scrum-half. Up front, Tanerau Latimer and Johan Bardoul come in for Beau Robinson and Joe Tupe as flankers.

The teams:

Bay of Plenty: 15 Elliott Hagen, 14 Tino Nemani, 13 Kendrick Lynn, 12 Sam Beard, 11 Kimami Sitauti, 10 Willie Ripia (c), 9 Josh Hall, 8 Carl Axtens, 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Johan Bardoul, 5 Josh Sole, 4 Culum Retallick, 3 Pingi Tala'a, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Kane Hames.
Replacements: 16 Kalem Chan Boon, 17 Joe Royal, 18 Tim Bond, 19 Joe Tupe, 20 Beau Robinson, 21 Toma Te Aihe, 22 Nick Evemy.

Waikato: 15 Trent Renata, 14 Semisi Masirewa, 13 Jackson Willison (c), 12 Sam Christie, 11 Niko Malo, 10 Wharenui Hawera, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Adam Burn, 7 Zak Hohneck, 6 Rory Grice, 5 Whetu Douglas, 4 Brian Alainu'uese, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Brayden Mitchell, 1 Toby Smith.
Replacements: 16 Vance Elliott, 17 Paul Alo-Emile, 18 Josh Tyrell, 19 Zane Kapeli, 20 Kylem O'Donnell, 21 Save Tokula/Joe Perawiti, 22 Falelima Siinei.

Date: Saturday, October 5
Kick-off: 14:35 local (03:35 BST, 02:35 GMT)
Venue: ASB Stadium Bay Park, Tauranga
Referee: Ben O'Keeffe

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
  • ITM Cup Table
ITM Cup Table
4Counties Manukau1028