Planet Rugby

Preview: Wellington v Canterbury

20th September 2013 07:49


Johnny McNicholl in action for Canterbury

Starts: Johnny McNicholl

Canterbury coach Scott Robertson has made five changes to his XV that will face Wellington in their ITM Cup clash at Westpac Stadium on Saturday.

Two players who returned from injury last week to start off the bench have this week made the XV - Corey Flynn at hooker and Johnny McNicholl on the left wing. That sees Ben Funnell and Milford Keresoma providing handy cover from the bench.

Two players have also been released from the All Blacks camp this week to rejoin the team. Matt Todd returns to openside flanker, and Colin Slade replaces Tom Taylor at full-back (with Taylor now having been called up to the All Black squad).

The final change is in the number eight jersey, with Luke Whitelock pulling it on this week and Jordan Taufua ready to make an impact off the bench if required, with coach Robertson saying the game promises to be their biggest challenge of the ITM Cup season yet.

"Like us, Wellington haven't dropped a game yet this season. Both teams will obviously be determined not to break their unbeaten run," he said.

"We are expecting this game to be at a level of intensity you'd normally get in a final and we're approaching it as such. It is also the beginning of our 'storm' week though, with matches to follow on Wednesday night and the following Saturday, so our focus and energy have to be absolutely primed."

Wellington meanwhile, who have only missed out on maximum points once in six matches to date, will be without scrum-half Frae Wilson for the home game. Tomasi Palu is their number nine, linking up with Lima Sopoaga behind arguably the strongest back-row in the competition of number eight Victor Vito and flanks Ardie Savea and Brad Shields.

The Lions are six points ahead of Canterbury ahead of what should be an epic clash.

The teams:

Wellington: 15 Charlie Ngatai, 14 Ambrose Curtis, 13 Tim Bateman, 12 Shaun Treeby, 11 Joe Hill, 10 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Tomasi Palu, 8 Victor Vito (capt), 7 Ardie Savea, 6 Brad Shields, 5 Kaipati Gaualofa, 4 Mark Reddish, 3 Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 2 Motu Matu'u, 1 John Schwalger.
Replacements: 16 Reg Goodes, 17 Eric Sione, 18 Genesis Mamea, 19 Adam Hill, 20 Kayne Hammington, 21 Tau Mamea, 22 Afa Fa'atau.

Canterbury: 15 Colin Slade, 14 Patrick Osborne, 13 Adam Whitelock, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Johnny McNicholl, 10 Tyler Bleyendaal, 9 Willi Heinz, 8 Luke Whitelock, 7 Matt Todd, 6 George Whitelock (capt), 5 Matt Symons, 4 Luke Katene, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Joe Moody.
Replacements: 16 Ben Funnell, 17 Paea Faanunu, 18 Joel Everson, 19 Jordan Taufua, 20 Andy Ellis, 21 Rob Thompson, 22 Milford Keresoma.

Date: Saturday, September 21
Kick-off: 17:35 local (06:35 BST, 05:35 GMT)
Venue: Westpac Stadium
Referee: Nick Briant

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
All times are local
Thursday , August 21
North Harbour vs Southland19:35
Friday , August 22
Waikato vs Canterbury18:05
Hawkes Bay vs Taranaki20:05
Saturday , August 23
Northland vs Wellington14:35
Counties Manukau vs Otago16:35
Sunday , August 24
Manawatu vs Auckland14:35
Bay Of Plenty vs Tasman16:35
Wednesday, August 27
Waikato vs Taranaki19:35
Thursday , August 28
Canterbury vs Northland19:35
Friday , August 29
Wellington vs Manawatu09:35
More ITM Cup fixtures
  • ITM Cup Results
Recent Results
All times are local
Sunday , August 17
Tasman 35 - 15 Hawkes BayTasman vs Hawkes Bay Report
Northland 23 - 28 Manawatu
Saturday , August 16
Otago 28 - 14 North Harbour
Canterbury 48 - 9 AucklandCanterbury vs Auckland Report
Wellington 25 - 37 WaikatoWellington vs Waikato Report
Friday , August 15
Southland 34 - 23 Bay Of Plenty
Thursday , August 14
Taranaki 9 - 9 Counties ManukauTaranaki vs Counties Manukau Report
More ITM Cup results
  • ITM Cup Table
Premiership 2014
ITM Cup Table
5Counties Manukau12