Planet Rugby

Preview: Wellington v Manawatu

31st August 2013 10:01

Share:

Nick Crosswell for Manawatu

Captain: Nick Crosswell

Manawatu have rotated a number of players ahead of Sunday's ITM Cup fixture against the Wellington Lions.

Sitting bottom of the Championship going into the meeting, the Turbos have handed flank Heiden Bedwell-Curtis his first start of the season.

Captain Nick Crosswell will slot in at lock while other Turbos making their first start for the year include Jared Brock and Newton Turdreu.

Hamish Northcott returns from injury and will line up wearing his preferred number twelve jersey. Fly-half Nate George also gets a run out.

Manawatu are of course without All Black half-back Aaron Smith and fly-half Aaron Cruden while Lima Sopoaga and Jason Emery are injured.

More to follow...

The teams:

Wellington: tbc

Manawatu: 15 Lewis Marshall, 14 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 13 Nico Malo, 12 Hamish Northcott, 11 Newton Tudreu, 10 Nate George, 9 Nic Stirzaker, 8 James Oliver, 7 Callum Gibbons, 6 Heiden Bedwell Curtis, 5 Michael FitzGerald, 4 Nick Crosswell (c), 3 Chris Eves, 2 Bryn Templeman, 1 Jared Brock.
Replacements: 16 Nick Grogan, 17 Damian Horgan, 18 Dan Squire, 19 Hamish Gosling, 20 Papa Wharewera, 21 Jade Te Rure, 22 Willie Paia'aua.

Referee: Matt O'Brien (Australia)

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
ITM Cup
Friday , October 3
Northland vs North Harbour19:35
Saturday , October 4
Southland vs Counties Manukau14:35
Bay Of Plenty vs Otago17:35
Canterbury vs Tasman19:35
Sunday , October 5
Manawatu vs Hawkes Bay14:35
Wednesday, October 8
Counties Manukau vs Auckland19:35
Thursday , October 9
Waikato vs Bay Of Plenty19:35
Friday , October 10
Otago vs Manawatu19:35
Saturday , October 11
Wellington vs North Harbour14:35
Hawkes Bay vs Southland17:35
More ITM Cup fixtures
  • ITM Cup Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
ITM Cup
Thursday , October 2
Auckland 60 - 19 Waikato
Wednesday, October 1
Hawkes Bay 36 - 14 WellingtonHawkes Bay vs Wellington Report
Sunday , September 28
Tasman 32 - 24 OtagoTasman vs Otago Report
Canterbury 26 - 28 SouthlandCanterbury vs Southland Report
Saturday , September 27
Waikato 20 - 22 ManawatuWaikato vs Manawatu Report
Counties Manukau 55 - 7 WellingtonCounties Manukau vs Wellington Report
North Harbour 28 - 25 Hawkes Bay
Friday , September 26
Taranaki 35 - 22 AucklandTaranaki vs Auckland Report
Thursday , September 25
Bay Of Plenty 27 - 30 Northland
Wednesday, September 24
North Harbour 29 - 24 CanterburyNorth Harbour vs Canterbury Report
More ITM Cup results
  • ITM Cup Table
Premiership 2014
ITM Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Taranaki832
2Tasman832
3Canterbury830
4Auckland825
5Waikato916