Planet Rugby

Preview: Waikato v Bay of Plenty

10th September 2012 09:57



Hurting: Waikato sit in fifth place

Waikato will be desperate to avoid a hat-trick of ITM Cup defeats when they take on Bay of Plenty at Waikato Stadium on Tuesday.

Last year's finalists play their fourth game of the season and currently working their way through a tough eight-day period that includes three matches against Premiership teams.

First up are the Steamers, who were hammered 47-13 by Counties-Manukau last Friday. The visitors will be hurting as much as fifth-placed Waikato and with a similar one-win, two-loss record.

In teams news, Waikato coach Chris Gibbes has made six changes to his starting line-up.

There are two changes in the forward pack, including a forced captaincy change, and another four in the backline as the Waikato coaching staff look to keep their squad fresh during a busy period in their competition schedule.

Minor injuries to captain Alex Bradley, Romana Graham and Jackson Willison will keep them out of Tuesday's game. They are replaced in the starting side by Rory Grice, Sam Kilgour and Save Tokula.

Hooker Marcel Cummings-Toone will captain the side against his old province in Bradley's absence and uncapped Otorohanga lock Anthony Wise comes onto the reserves bench as lock cover.

Other changes include teenager Joe Webber who will make his Waikato debut on the left wing, Tawera Kerr-Barlow starting in place of Brendon Leonard, and Sam Christie getting a start at centre.

The teams:

Waikato: 15 Trent Renata, 14 Declan O'Donnell, 13 Save Tokula, 12 Sam Christie, 11 Joe Webber, 10 Piers Francis, 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Rory Grice, 7 Zak Hohneck, 6 Matt Vant Leven, 5 Sam Kilgour, 4 Chris Middleton, 3 Ben May, 2 Marcel Cummings-Toone, 1 Toby Smith.
Replacements: 16 Vance Elliott, 17 Ted Tauroa, 18 Anthony wise, 19 Jono Armstrong, 20 Brendon Leonard, 21 Joe Perawiti, 22 Tim Mikkelson.

Bay of Plenty: 15 Kendrick Lynn, 14 Lelia Masaga, 13 Mafi Kefu, 12 Phil Burleigh, 11 Lance MacDonald, 10 Nick McCashin, 9 Josh Hall, 8 Carl Axtens, 7 Luke Braid, 6 Tanerau Latimer (c), 5 Leon Power, 4 Culum Retallick, 3 Josh Hohneck, 2 Daniel Perrin, 1 Tristan Moran.
Replacements: 16 Nathan Harris/John Pareanga, 17 Mike Kainga, 18 Dan Goodwin, 19 Jesse Acton, 20 Lewis Hancock, 21 Simon Rolleston, 22 Jack Wilson.

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
All times are local
Wednesday, September 24
North Harbour vs Canterbury19:35
Thursday , September 25
Bay Of Plenty vs Northland19:35
Friday , September 26
Taranaki vs Auckland19:35
Saturday , September 27
Waikato vs Manawatu14:35
Counties Manukau vs Wellington17:35
North Harbour vs Hawkes Bay19:35
Sunday , September 28
Tasman vs Otago14:35
Canterbury vs Southland16:35
Wednesday, October 1
Hawkes Bay vs Wellington19:35
Thursday , October 2
Auckland vs Waikato19:35
More ITM Cup fixtures
  • ITM Cup Results
Recent Results
All times are local
Sunday , September 21
Otago 38 - 7 WaikatoOtago vs Waikato Report
Wellington 20 - 42 TasmanWellington vs Tasman Report
Saturday , September 20
Hawkes Bay 36 - 17 Bay Of Plenty
Auckland 32 - 7 North HarbourAuckland vs North Harbour Report
Manawatu 36 - 17 Southland
Friday , September 19
Counties Manukau 20 - 28 CanterburyCounties Manukau vs Canterbury Report
Thursday , September 18
Northland 20 - 31 TaranakiNorthland vs Taranaki Report
Wednesday, September 17
Southland 14 - 38 TasmanSouthland vs Tasman Report
Sunday , September 14
Waikato 26 - 21 Counties ManukauWaikato vs Counties Manukau Report
Hawkes Bay 41 - 0 Otago
More ITM Cup results
  • ITM Cup Table
Premiership 2014
ITM Cup Table