Planet Rugby

Hawke's Bay promoted to Premiership

04th September 2011 10:27

Share:

hawkes bay

Made it: Hawke's Bay celebrate

Hawke's Bay beat Manawatu 35-30 at FMG Stadium in Palmerston North on Sunday to book themselves a place in the ITM Cup Premiership division next year.

The home side outscored the Turbos four tries to three for the ITM Cup Championship trophy, in what was a well-deserved victory.

It was not the result the home side wanted for departing coach Dave Rennie - and it also ended their perfect run at FMG Stadium this season.

But Hawke's Bay were well worth the win as they scored some excellent tries and scrambled desperately in the final few minutes to hang on for the win.

The scorers:

For Manawatu:
Tries: Tietjens, Bryant, Fitzgerald
Cons: Cruden 3
Pens: Cruden 3

For Hawke's Bay:
Tries: Saseve, Buckman, Nemani, Sinoti
Cons: Horrell 3
Pens: Horrell 3

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
ITM Cup
Thursday , September 18
Northland vs TaranakiNorthland vs Taranaki Preview
Friday , September 19
Counties Manukau vs CanterburyCounties Manukau vs Canterbury Preview
Saturday , September 20
Hawkes Bay vs Bay Of Plenty14:35
Auckland vs North Harbour17:35
Manawatu vs Southland19:35
Sunday , September 21
Otago vs Waikato14:35
Wellington vs Tasman14:35
Wellington vs Tasman16:35
Wednesday, September 24
North Harbour vs Canterbury19:35
Thursday , September 25
Bay Of Plenty vs Northland19:35
More ITM Cup fixtures
  • ITM Cup Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
ITM Cup
Wednesday, September 17
Southland 14 - 38 TasmanSouthland vs Tasman Report
Sunday , September 14
Waikato 26 - 21 Counties ManukauWaikato vs Counties Manukau Report
Hawkes Bay 41 - 0 Otago
Saturday , September 13
Bay Of Plenty 12 - 27 AucklandBay Of Plenty vs Auckland Report
Southland 36 - 34 Northland
Friday , September 12
North Harbour 24 - 13 Manawatu
Canterbury 46 - 12 WellingtonCanterbury vs Wellington Report
Thursday , September 11
Tasman 30 - 31 TaranakiTasman vs Taranaki Report
Wednesday, September 10
Otago 23 - 40 Northland
Sunday , September 7
Manawatu 26 - 10 Counties ManukauManawatu vs Counties Manukau Report
More ITM Cup results
  • ITM Cup Table
Premiership 2014
ITM Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Canterbury524
2Taranaki622
3Tasman622
4Auckland515
5Waikato615