Planet Rugby

Horwill to face misconduct charge

23rd May 2014 07:54

Share:

James Horwill reds v Brumbies SR 2014

In the dock: James Horwill

Reds captain James Horwill will face a SANZAR judicial hearing for comments made after his side's loss to the Rebels in Brisbane last weekend.

SANZAR has completed an investigation into comments made by Horwill in an on-field post-match interview following the match played at Suncorp Stadium on 17 May 2014.

The comment in question attributed to Horwill is: "In the end, once again we were robbed by a stupid refereeing decision."

SANZAR has referred the matter for a hearing in accordance with SANZAR's Disciplinary Rules.

In bringing this complaint, SANZAR will allege that the comment made by Horwill amount to Misconduct under Rule 10 of the SANZAR Disciplinary Rules and breaches the SANZAR Code of Conduct Section 8.3 (3) of the Super Rugby Tournament Manual, which reads as follows:

Section 8.3 (e) "All persons shall not publish or cause to be published criticism of the manner in which a Match Official handled a match."

The matter will be heard by SANZAR Judicial Officer Nigel Hampton via teleconference on Tuesday 27 May 2014: 5:30pm (AEST), 7:30pm (NZST), 9:30am (SAST).

SANZAR will be making no further comment until this process has been completed.

  • Super Rugby Fixtures
  • Super Rugby Table
Super Rugby Table
PosTeamPPts
1Waratahs1658
2Crusaders1651
3Sharks1650
4Brumbies1645
5Chiefs1644
6Highlanders1642
7Hurricanes1641
8Western Force1640
9Bulls1638
10Blues1637
11Stormers1632
12Lions1631
13Reds1628
14Cheetahs1624
15Melbourne Rebels1621
Australian Conference
Super Rugby Table
PosTeamPPts
1Waratahs1658
2Brumbies1645
3Western Force1640
4Reds1628
5Melbourne Rebels1621
New Zealand Conference
Super Rugby Table
PosTeamPPts
1Crusaders1651
2Chiefs1644
3Highlanders1642
4Hurricanes1641
5Blues1637
South African Conference
Super Rugby Table
PosTeamPPts
1Sharks1650
2Bulls1638
3Stormers1632
4Lions1631
5Cheetahs1624