Planet Rugby

SANZAR concede Reinach try error

17th February 2014 11:28

Share:

COBUS REINACH SHARKS SUPER RUGBY

Try time: Cobus Reinach

SANZAR referees boss Lyndon Bray admits Cobus Reinach's try for the Sharks was awarded erroneously by the match officials.

Reinach scored as the Sharks brushed the Bulls aside 31-16 on the opening day of the Super Rugby season, after the incident had been referred to TMO Deon van Blommenstein.

Multiple replays appeared to show Sharks second-row Anton Bresler knock the ball forward, and Bray disagreed with the TMO's appraisal that Bresler had not played opponent Paul Willemse in the air.

"We unfortunately got the TMO decision wrong," said Bray.

"The Sharks forward did knock the ball forward out of the Bulls player's hands. Also, there was consideration to the fact that the Sharks player obstructed the Bulls player in the air.

"Deon has accepted that the right decision should have been a knock on and scrum to the Bulls."

  • Super Rugby Fixtures
  • Super Rugby Table
Super Rugby Table
PosTeamPPts
1Waratahs1658
2Crusaders1651
3Sharks1650
4Brumbies1645
5Chiefs1644
6Highlanders1642
7Hurricanes1641
8Western Force1640
9Bulls1638
10Blues1637
11Stormers1632
12Lions1631
13Reds1628
14Cheetahs1624
15Melbourne Rebels1621
Australian Conference
Super Rugby Table
PosTeamPPts
1Waratahs1658
2Brumbies1645
3Western Force1640
4Reds1628
5Melbourne Rebels1621
New Zealand Conference
Super Rugby Table
PosTeamPPts
1Crusaders1651
2Chiefs1644
3Highlanders1642
4Hurricanes1641
5Blues1637
South African Conference
Super Rugby Table
PosTeamPPts
1Sharks1650
2Bulls1638
3Stormers1632
4Lions1631
5Cheetahs1624