Blues coach Sir John Kirwan is seeking clarification from the Super Rugby refereeing panel on a controversial penalty try which was awarded in his team's win over the Hurricanes on Saturday.
The Auckland-based franchise conceded the penalty try and had wing Frank Halai sin-binned in the 54th minute of their 34-20 win in Wellington, after it was ruled that he had deliberately knocked the ball dead in the in-goal area, in a desperate bid to avoid Hurricanes flyer Julian Savea from scoring a try.
Match referee Glen Jackson implemented the ruling of television match offical Vinny Munro which gave the Hurricanes a 20-16 lead.
Kirwan described the decision as harsh, as he did not believe Halai's actions prevented a certain try, and revealed that he contacted Sanzar referees boss Lyndon Bray about the incident.
"That's just to get a better understanding," he told Fairfax Media.
"The letter of the law is, yeah, that's the rule. Could you say it was going to be a try?
"My opinion would be, no. Their opinion would be, yes. At the end of the day I thought it was a harsh call."
Kirwan said it was also a chance for him to check other areas with Bray.
"Nothing major, just to make sure we are training the boys the right way and we're aware of the trends that the refs are looking at."