Planet Rugby

Argentina rest stars for June Tests

27th May 2014 13:31


NICOLAS SANCHEZ argentina training

Pumas playermaker: Nicolas Sanchez

Argentina have excluded almost all their overseas-based players for the upcoming June Tests against Ireland and Scotland.

Pumas head coach Daniel Hourcade has announced a squad of 31 players for the three-Test series with a only sprinkling of regular members of the first-choice senior squad such as Nicolas Sanchez (Bordeaux), Manuel Carizza (Stormers) and Matias Diaz (Highlanders).

Of the 13 foreign-based players called up to prepare for the Rugby Championship in Pensacola, Florida, only Castres prop Ramiro Herrera will feature in June.

The first Test match against Ireland will take place on June 7 in Resistencia and the second in Tucuman on the 14th. Los Pumas then face Scotland in Cordoba on the following Friday, June 20.

"The goal is the Rugby World Cup 2015 and we're seeking to rotate the young players who are in the country so they can gain experience," said Hourcade.

"When choosing the World Cup squad will be taken into account. "

Argentina squad for June Tests (31):

Forwards: Santiago Cordero (Regatas Bella Vista), Tomas Cubelli (Belgrano Athletic), Jeronimo De la Fuente (Duendes RC de Rosario), Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino (Oyonnax, FRA), Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias (Asociacion Alumni de Buenos Aires), Martin Landajo (Club Athetic de San Isidro), Manuel Montero (Pucara de Buenos Aires), Matias Moroni (CUBA), Ramiro Moyano (Lince Tucuman), Matias Orlando (Huirapuca Tucuman), Javier Rojas (Universitario Tucuman), Nicolas Sanchez (Bègles-Bordeaux, FRA), Joaquin Tuculet (sans club)

Backs: Antonio Ahualli de Chazal (San Isidro Club), Matias Alemanno (La Tablada de Cordoba), Gabriel Ascárate (Natacion y Gimnasia de Tucuman), Rodrigo Baez (Liceo RC de Cuyo), Manuel Carizza (Stormers, RSA), Matias Cortese (Liceo RC de Cuyo), Tomas De la Vega (Club Universitario de Buenos Aires), Matias Diaz (Highlanders, NZL), Ramiro Herrera (Castres, FRA), Santiago Iglesias Valdez (Universitario Tucuman), Facundo Isa (Santiago Lawn Tennis), Tomas Lavanini (Racing-Métro, FRA), Benjamin Macome (sans club), Julian Montoya (Club Newman), Lucas Noguera Paz (Lince Tucuman), Javier Ortega Desio (Estudiantes de Parana), Bruno Postiglioni (La Plata), Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro (La Plata)

Rugby Championship (13): Horacio Agulla (Bath), Marcelo Bosch (Saracens), Maximiliano Bustos (Montpellier), Agustín Creevy, Mariano Galarza, Leonardo Senatore (all Worcester Warriors), Juan Martín Hernández, Tomás Lavanini (Racing Metro), Juan Imhoff (all Racing Metro), Juan Manuel Leguizamón (Lyon Olympique), Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe (Toulon), Pablo Matera (Leicester Tigers), Ramiro Herrera (Castres Olympique)

  • Rugby Championship Fixtures
  • Rugby Championship Table
Rugby Championship Table
1New Zealand622
2South Africa619