Planet Rugby

Five Boks returning to Top 14 clubs

26th August 2013 16:29


morne steyn

Morne Steyn: Heading to France

The Springboks will be without five of their players ahead of the Australasian leg of their Rugby Championship campaign.

Following requests from four Top 14 clubs to the South African Rugby Union, it was decided to release Morné Steyn (Stade Français), Bryan Habana (Toulon), Juandré Kruger (Racing Metro), Gurthrö Steenkamp and Jano Vermaak (both Toulouse).

SARU CEO Jurie Roux said they will be in action for their respective clubs this weekend but will rejoin the Springbok squad next week.

The Springboks arrived back in South Africa following their short tour to Argentina, where they beat the Pumas by 22-17 in Mendoza on Saturday.

The team will enjoy a break of three days before getting together in Johannesburg on Thursday afternoon. The touring squad of 28 players will be named on Wednesday.

The Springboks are scheduled to depart for Australia on Saturday for their next two matches in the Rugby Championship, against Australia in Brisbane and New Zealand in Auckland on 7 and 14 September respectively.

"This is a unique situation and a once-off concession to these four French clubs," said Roux.

"Most of these players recently joined the French league and although we could've opted to keep them with the squad to prepare for the Australasian leg, we decided to adhere to their requests to allow them to return to their clubs for matches this weekend.

"If selected in the squad for the Tests in Australia and New Zealand, they will join up the Springboks in Brisbane on Monday."

  • Rugby Championship Fixtures
  • Rugby Championship Table
Rugby Championship Table
1New Zealand622
2South Africa619