Planet Rugby

Pumas shuffle the deck for Boks

22nd August 2013 16:51


Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino tackled by Morne Steyn

In at full-back: Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino

Argentina coach Santiago Phelan has made five changes to his team to face the Springboks in Mendoza on Saturday.

The Pumas are looking to bounce back from a 73-13 hammering suffered at the hands of the South Africans in Soweto last week, and Phelan has named a much-changed line-up for the encounter.

Among the backs, Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino comes in at full-back for the injured Juan Martin Hernandez while Horacio Agulla is drafted onto the wing at the expense of Juan Imhoff who drops to the bench.

It's all change in the second row, where Julio Farias Cabello and Mariano Galarza replace Patricio Albacete and Manuel Carizza. In the front row, Marcos Ayerza packs down at loosehead prop, with Juan Figallo shifting across to the tighthead side.

Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe again misses out due to injury and as a result Felipe Contepomi will continue to lead the side in his absence.

Argentina: 15 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, 14 Gonzalo Camacho, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Felipe Contepomi (captain), 11 Horacio Agulla, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Martín Landajo, 8 Leonardo Senatore, 7 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Mariano Galarza, 4 Julio Farías Cabello, 3 Juan Figallo, 2 Eusebio Guiñazú,1 Marcos Ayerza.
Replacements: 16 Agustín Creevy, 17 Nahuel Lobo, 18 Tomas Lavaninni, 19 Benjamin Macome, 20 Tomás Cubelli, 21 Santiago Fernández, 22 Juan Imhoff

Date: Saturday, August 24
Venue: Estadio Malvinas Argentinas, Mendoza
Kick-off: 16.10 (19.10 GMT)
Referee: Steve Walsh (Australia)
Assistant referees:John Lacey (Ireland), Pascal Gauzère (France)
TMO: Marshall Kilgore (Ireland)

  • Rugby Championship Fixtures
  • Rugby Championship Table
Rugby Championship Table
1New Zealand622
2South Africa619