Planet Rugby

New Zealand

New Zealand

Ellison re-signs with Rebels

26th June 2014 12:30

Share:

Tamati Ellison at Rebels training

New deal: Tamati Ellison

The Rebels have been handed a big boost ahead of Friday's clash with the Reds as outside centre Tamati Ellison inked a new contract at the franchise.

Ellison, who arrived from the Highlanders ahead of the 2014 season, has played a key role in the Rebels' midfield alongside Mitch Inman.

Fox Sports' Rugby HQ announced the news on Thursday as powerful and intelligent All Blacks centre Ellison agreed a two-year extension.

"It was tough deciding what to do; I was lucky enough to have options back in New Zealand to consider, and with my family missing home a wee bit I had to consider that," Ellison revealed.

"At the same time, I've really enjoyed my time here. We love Melbourne. My family and I have been fortunate enough to be associated with some great teams in the past; we love it in New Zealand, in Japan but also here. This year's gone a bit too quickly, but we're keen to spend more time here."

  • New Zealand Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
International Match
Saturday , October 18
Australia vs New Zealand10:00
Saturday , November 1
USA vs New ZealandTBC
Saturday , November 8
England vs New Zealand14:30
Saturday , November 15
Scotland vs New ZealandTBC
Saturday , November 22
Wales vs New Zealand17:30
More International Match fixtures
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 27
Argentina vs New Zealand23:10
Saturday , October 4
South Africa vs New Zealand16:05
More Rugby Championship fixtures
  • New Zealand Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 13
New Zealand 14 - 10 South AfricaNew Zealand vs South Africa Report
Saturday , September 6
New Zealand 28 - 9 Argentina
Saturday , August 23
New Zealand 51 - 20 Australia
Saturday , August 16
Australia 12 - 12 New Zealand
More Rugby Championship results
  • Table
Rugby Championship Table
PosTeamPPts
1New Zealand416
2South Africa410
3Australia410
4Argentina43