Planet Rugby

New Zealand

New Zealand

Smith ruled out of final Test

16th June 2014 06:33

Share:

ben smith conrad smith new zealand

Conrad Smith: Has a broken thumb

Veteran All Blacks centre Conrad Smith will miss the world champions' third test against England in Hamilton on Saturday due to a broken thumb.

The injury, sustained during last weekend's second test at Dunedin, may rule the 77-test veteran out of rugby for up to six weeks and could also mean the end of his Super Rugby campaign.

All Blacks coach Steve Hansen said he will decide later this week whether Malakai Fekitoa or Ryan Crotty will start at outside centre in Smith's place.

If New Zealand chooses Fekitoa it will be his first Test start.

New Zealand clinched the three-test series 2-0 after winning the first test 20-15 and the second 28-27.

  • New Zealand Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
International Match
Saturday , October 18
Australia vs New Zealand10:00
Saturday , November 1
USA vs New ZealandTBC
Saturday , November 8
England vs New Zealand14:30
Saturday , November 15
Scotland vs New ZealandTBC
Saturday , November 22
Wales vs New Zealand17:30
More International Match fixtures
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 27
Argentina vs New Zealand23:10
Saturday , October 4
South Africa vs New Zealand16:05
More Rugby Championship fixtures
  • New Zealand Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 13
New Zealand 14 - 10 South AfricaNew Zealand vs South Africa Report
Saturday , September 6
New Zealand 28 - 9 Argentina
Saturday , August 23
New Zealand 51 - 20 Australia
Saturday , August 16
Australia 12 - 12 New Zealand
More Rugby Championship results
  • Table
Rugby Championship Table
PosTeamPPts
1New Zealand416
2South Africa410
3Australia410
4Argentina43