Planet Rugby

New Zealand

New Zealand

English tempo impresses Retallick

15th June 2014 14:27

Share:

Brodie Retallick NZ v England 2014

Good rivalry: Brodie Retallick

New Zealand lock Brodie Retallick has praised the performances of England in their opening two Tests, singling out the pace at which they're playing.

Retallick dominated headlines before June's action after he was unable to name an England player, with "Michael Lawes" one answer offered.

But after two of the three games against the English, Retallick believes the All Blacks have been facing superb opposition who he rates.

"They are right up there with the pace South Africa and Australia play at," Retallick told Press Association Sport following the 28-27 victory.

"From when we played them last autumn to these two games it's definitely been a lot faster than what it has been last year and the year before.

"We've enjoyed the rivalry with England in this series. These first two Tests have been pretty tough. No doubt the third one will be just as tough. It's definitely a good challenge for us."

  • New Zealand Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
International Match
Saturday , October 18
Australia vs New Zealand10:00
Saturday , November 1
USA vs New ZealandTBC
Saturday , November 8
England vs New Zealand14:30
Saturday , November 15
Scotland vs New ZealandTBC
Saturday , November 22
Wales vs New Zealand17:30
More International Match fixtures
Rugby Championship
Saturday , October 4
South Africa vs New Zealand16:05
More Rugby Championship fixtures
  • New Zealand Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 27
Argentina 13 - 34 New ZealandArgentina vs New Zealand Report
Saturday , September 13
New Zealand 14 - 10 South Africa
Saturday , September 6
New Zealand 28 - 9 Argentina
Saturday , August 23
New Zealand 51 - 20 Australia
Saturday , August 16
Australia 12 - 12 New Zealand
More Rugby Championship results
  • Table
Rugby Championship Table
PosTeamPPts
1New Zealand521
2South Africa515
3Australia510
4Argentina53