Planet Rugby

New Zealand

New Zealand

Carter to play on Saturday

11th June 2014 07:22

Share:

Dan Carter comeback for Southbridge 2009

Comeback for Southbridge: Dan Carter

All Blacks fly-half Dan Carter will make his playing return from a six-month sabbatical in a minor club match on Saturday.

The 32-year-old will play for the Southbridge club, where he began his career, in a local rural championship match against Glenmark.

The 100-Test cap Crusaders playmaker does not expect to play a full 80 minutes.

"I will just ease my way back into it on what will more than likely be a heavy, wet track. I am probably only looking at 40 minutes or so, but it will just be good to get some game time," Carter told Stuff.co.nz.

"Probably for the last six weeks I have been itching to get back. The more intense the training gets, the more you just want to get out there and play. It has picked up over the last six weeks and I am now at a stage where I am ready to play.

"There is a lot of motivation there.''

  • New Zealand Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
International Match
Saturday , October 18
Australia vs New Zealand10:00
Saturday , November 1
USA vs New ZealandTBC
Saturday , November 8
England vs New ZealandTBC
Saturday , November 15
Scotland vs New ZealandTBC
Saturday , November 22
Wales vs New Zealand17:30
More International Match fixtures
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 6
New Zealand vs Argentina08:35
Saturday , September 13
New Zealand vs South Africa08:35
Saturday , September 27
Argentina vs New Zealand23:10
Saturday , October 4
South Africa vs New Zealand16:05
More Rugby Championship fixtures
  • New Zealand Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Rugby Championship
Saturday , August 23
New Zealand 51 - 20 AustraliaNew Zealand vs Australia Report
Saturday , August 16
Australia 12 - 12 New ZealandAustralia vs New Zealand Report
More Rugby Championship results
  • Table
Rugby Championship Table
PosTeamPPts
1South Africa28
2New Zealand27
3Argentina22
4Australia22