Planet Rugby

New Zealand

New Zealand

Gear leaving Toulouse for Japan

01st April 2014 14:11

Share:

hosea gear toulouse connacht

Off to Japan: Hosea Gear

Japanese second division club Honda Heat have announced the arrival of former All Blacks wing Hosea Gear from Toulouse.

Gear's departure from the four-time European champions has been an open secret for a few months but it was widely believed he would be returning to New Zealand in a bid to win a place in the All Blacks' squad for the 2015 World Cup.

The 30-year-old, who has 15 Test caps, joined Toulouse last August as a 'medical joker' for the injured Vincent Clerc. Next season, he will be replaced in the squad by Alexis Palisson, who arrives from Toulon.

The former Highlanders winger started 23 times in 27 games for Toulouse, scoring four tries.

Gear will be joined in the city of Suzuka by former Wallabies lock Hugh McMeniman.

  • New Zealand Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
International Match
Saturday , October 18
Australia vs New Zealand10:00
Saturday , November 1
USA vs New ZealandTBC
Saturday , November 8
England vs New ZealandTBC
Saturday , November 15
Scotland vs New ZealandTBC
Saturday , November 22
Wales vs New Zealand17:30
More International Match fixtures
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 6
New Zealand vs Argentina08:35
Saturday , September 13
New Zealand vs South Africa08:35
Saturday , September 27
Argentina vs New Zealand23:10
Saturday , October 4
South Africa vs New Zealand16:05
More Rugby Championship fixtures
  • New Zealand Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Rugby Championship
Saturday , August 23
New Zealand 51 - 20 AustraliaNew Zealand vs Australia Report
Saturday , August 16
Australia 12 - 12 New ZealandAustralia vs New Zealand Report
More Rugby Championship results
  • Table
Rugby Championship Table
PosTeamPPts
1South Africa28
2New Zealand27
3Argentina22
4Australia22