Planet Rugby

New Zealand

New Zealand

McCaw out for two months

01st March 2014 05:42

Share:

Richie McCaw watches on as Crusaders lose

Richie McCaw: Eight-week layoff

All Blacks captain Richie McCaw is facing two months on the sidelines after breaking a thumb in the Crusaders' loss to the Blues on Friday.

An x-ray has confirmed the break, suffered in the first half of the 35-24 Super Rugby defeat in Auckland.

A Crusaders spokesman said medical advice was that the usual recovery time for such an injury was up to eight weeks, meaning McCaw is unlikely to play any rugby until late April.

Players have, however, come back within six weeks in exceptional circumstances.

The 33-year-old missed the bulk of the 2013 Super Rugby season, while on a sabbatical.

  • New Zealand Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
International Match
Saturday , October 18
Australia vs New Zealand10:00
Saturday , November 1
USA vs New ZealandTBC
Saturday , November 8
England vs New ZealandTBC
Saturday , November 15
Scotland vs New ZealandTBC
Saturday , November 22
Wales vs New Zealand17:30
More International Match fixtures
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 6
New Zealand vs Argentina08:35
Saturday , September 13
New Zealand vs South Africa08:35
Saturday , September 27
Argentina vs New Zealand23:10
Saturday , October 4
South Africa vs New Zealand16:05
More Rugby Championship fixtures
  • New Zealand Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Rugby Championship
Saturday , August 23
New Zealand 51 - 20 AustraliaNew Zealand vs Australia Report
Saturday , August 16
Australia 12 - 12 New ZealandAustralia vs New Zealand Report
More Rugby Championship results
  • Table
Rugby Championship Table
PosTeamPPts
1South Africa28
2New Zealand27
3Argentina22
4Australia22