Planet Rugby

South Africa

South Africa

Steyn to play in Japan?

02nd May 2014 13:11

Share:

FRANCOIS STEYN SHARKS KICK

Stint abroad: Frans Steyn

According to a report, Springbok and Sharks centre Francois Steyn is set to miss 2014's Rugby Championship for a campaign in Japan's Top League.

Sport24 believe the 2007 World Cup winner will return to Super Rugby in 2015 and is available to the Springboks for this year's November Tests.

"Frans didn't want to engage in any negotiations without our consent and because of the unique circumstances we allowed it," South African Rugby Union CEO Jurie Roux told the website.

"We have the assurance that he'll be available for the World Cup."

  • South Africa Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
International Match
Saturday , November 8
Ireland vs South Africa17:00
Saturday , November 15
England vs South Africa14:30
Saturday , November 22
Italy vs South Africa14:30
Saturday , November 29
Wales vs South Africa14:30
More International Match fixtures
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 27
South Africa vs Australia16:05
Saturday , October 4
South Africa vs New Zealand16:05
More Rugby Championship fixtures
  • South Africa Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 13
New Zealand 14 - 10 South AfricaNew Zealand vs South Africa Report
Saturday , September 6
Australia 24 - 23 South Africa
Saturday , August 23
Argentina 31 - 33 South Africa
Saturday , August 16
South Africa 13 - 6 Argentina
More Rugby Championship results
  • Table
Rugby Championship Table
PosTeamPPts
1New Zealand416
2South Africa410
3Australia410
4Argentina43