Planet Rugby



Four newbies in Ireland squad

19th May 2014 11:53


Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt

Joe Schmidt: Picked a 30-man squad

Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt has named his 30-man squad for the two Test tour of Argentina in June.

The squad will fly to Buenos Aires on Sunday June 1 the day after the Pro 12 final between Leinster and Glasgow Warriors.

The squad which is made up of 16 forwards and 14 backs contains four uncapped players - Munster prop James Cronin, Ulster back-row Robbie Diack and hooker Rob Herring and Connacht scrum-half Kieran Marmion.

The first Test takes place at the Estadio Centenario in Resistancia in Chaco Province on Saturday June 7.

The second Test will be played in the Estadio José Fierro in Tucumán on Saturday June 14.

Ireland squad:

Forwards: Rory Best, James Cronin, Robbie Diack, Iain Henderson, Chris Henry, Jamie Heaslip, Rob Herring, Dave Kilcoyne, Jack McGrath, Marty Moore, Jordi Murphy, Paul O'Connell, Mike Ross, Rhys Ruddock, Devin Toner, Damian Varley.

Backs: Darren Cave, Keith Earls, Robbie Henshaw, Paddy Jackson, Felix Jones, Rob Kearney, Kieran Marmion, Luke Marshall, Fergus McFadden, Conor Murray, Eoin Reddan, Johnny Sexton, Andrew Trimble, Simon Zebo.

  • Ireland Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
All times are local
International Match
Saturday , November 8
Ireland vs South Africa17:30
Sunday , November 16
Ireland vs Georgia14:30
Saturday , November 22
Ireland vs Australia16:30
More International Match fixtures
  • Table
RBS Six Nations Table