Planet Rugby

Australia

Australia

Wallabies lose Sio to injury

05th August 2014 06:32

Share:

Scott Sio Wallabies training RC 2014

Scott Sio: Out with an ankle injury

Wallabies prop Scott Sio has been ruled out of his country's opening Rugby Championship Test against New Zealand due to an ankle injury, further depleting of the Wallabies' front-row depth.

Sio hurt his ankle in training and the Australian Rugby Union said on Tuesday the 22-year-old Brumbies front-row will be replaced by Melbourne Rebels prop Laurie Weeks in the squad preparing for the Test against the All Blacks in Sydney on August 16.

According to AAP, the Wallabies said they chose Weeks, who is a tighthead prop, as replacement for Sio - who plays on the loosehead - as they were planning to convert the Brumbies front-row into a tighthead at training.

This is the Wallabies' second injury setback within a couple of days.

Veteran hooker Tatafa Polota-Nau was on Monday ruled out of the series-opener after hurting his knee in the Waratahs' Super Rugby Final victory over the Crusaders in Sydney last weekend.

  • Australia Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
International Match
Saturday , October 18
Australia vs New Zealand10:00
Saturday , November 8
Wales vs Australia14:30
Saturday , November 15
France vs Australia20:00
Saturday , November 22
Ireland vs Australia16:30
Saturday , November 29
England vs Australia14:30
More International Match fixtures
Rugby Championship
Saturday , October 4
Argentina vs Australia19:40
More Rugby Championship fixtures
  • Australia Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 27
South Africa 28 - 10 AustraliaSouth Africa vs Australia Report
Saturday , September 13
Australia 32 - 25 Argentina
Saturday , September 6
Australia 24 - 23 South Africa
Saturday , August 23
New Zealand 51 - 20 Australia
Saturday , August 16
Australia 12 - 12 New Zealand
More Rugby Championship results
  • Table
Rugby Championship Table
PosTeamPPts
1New Zealand521
2South Africa515
3Australia510
4Argentina53