Planet Rugby

Australia

Australia

Boudjellal laughs off Folau rumours

28th July 2014 17:21

Share:

mourad boudjellal toulon

Rational: Mourad Boudjellal

Toulon owner Mourad Boudjellal has dismissed speculation over signing Australia full-back Israel Folau after the Rugby World Cup.

Boudjellal stated that Toulon were more than happy with their full-back options at the club.

In addition, he suggested if he were to make that large an offer to a player to join the European champions, he would have to be 'locked up.'

Toulon clinched a French-European double last season for the first time.

"We haven't in any case made ​​an offer of €1.7m. You know what, the day when I offer €1.7m to a rugby player, I'll need to be locked up!" Boudjellal told

La Provence.

"It's true, Folau is a dream player, but at full-back we already have Delon Armitage, Leigh Halfpenny and have just signed James O'Connor who can help out at 15.

"We're not doing badly! If tomorrow we invest €1.7m on one player, we'd arrive at a point where we would have a big gap."

  • Australia Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
International Match
Saturday , October 18
Australia vs New Zealand10:00
Saturday , November 8
Wales vs Australia14:30
Saturday , November 15
France vs Australia20:00
Saturday , November 22
Ireland vs Australia16:30
Saturday , November 29
England vs Australia14:30
More International Match fixtures
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 27
South Africa vs Australia16:05
Saturday , October 4
Argentina vs Australia23:40
More Rugby Championship fixtures
  • Australia Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 13
Australia 32 - 25 ArgentinaAustralia vs Argentina Report
Saturday , September 6
Australia 24 - 23 South AfricaAustralia vs South Africa Report
Saturday , August 23
New Zealand 51 - 20 Australia
Saturday , August 16
Australia 12 - 12 New Zealand
More Rugby Championship results
  • Table
Rugby Championship Table
PosTeamPPts
1New Zealand416
2South Africa410
3Australia410
4Argentina43