Planet Rugby

Australia

Australia

Gear, Ranger, Giteau for Barbarians

25th March 2014 14:25

Share:

Rene Ranger at Montpellier

Selected: Rene Ranger

The Barbarians have released a first batch of high-class names who will be involved in their Sunday, June 1 game against England at Twickenham.

Fourteen players have been named in the group, with James O'Connor, Hosea Gear, Sitiveni Sivivatu, Rene Ranger and Matt Giteau included.

Drew Mitchell, Aurélien Rougerie, Francois Trinh-Duc and Jimmy Cowan are the other backs named in the squad, released on Tuesday.

French-based Steffon Armitage, Julien Bonnaire, Ali Williams, Carl Hayman and Ulster's John Afoa are the five forwards in the initial selection.

Barbarians selected: James O'Connor (London Irish, Australia), Drew Mitchell (Toulon, Australia), Hosea Gear (Toulouse, New Zealand), Sitiveni Sivivatu (Clermont, New Zealand), Aurélien Rougerie (Clermont, France), Rene Ranger (Montpelier, France), Matt Giteau (Toulon, Australia), Francois Trinh Duc (Montpelier, France), Jimmy Cowan (Gloucester, New Zealand), Steffon Armitage (Toulon, England), Julien Bonnaire (Clermont, France), Ali Williams (Toulon, New Zealand), Carl Hayman (Toulon, New Zealand), John Afoa (Ulster, New Zealand).

  • Australia Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
International Match
Saturday , October 18
Australia vs New Zealand10:00
Saturday , November 8
Wales vs Australia14:30
Saturday , November 15
France vs Australia20:00
Saturday , November 22
Ireland vs Australia16:30
Saturday , November 29
England vs Australia14:30
More International Match fixtures
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 27
South Africa vs Australia16:05
Saturday , October 4
Argentina vs Australia23:40
More Rugby Championship fixtures
  • Australia Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Rugby Championship
Saturday , September 13
Australia 32 - 25 ArgentinaAustralia vs Argentina Report
Saturday , September 6
Australia 24 - 23 South AfricaAustralia vs South Africa Report
Saturday , August 23
New Zealand 51 - 20 Australia
Saturday , August 16
Australia 12 - 12 New Zealand
More Rugby Championship results
  • Table
Rugby Championship Table
PosTeamPPts
1New Zealand416
2South Africa410
3Australia410
4Argentina43