Planet Rugby



Preview: Leinster v Aironi

09th February 2011 09:24


SKY_MOBILE Dominic Ryan - Leinster

On the openside: Dominic Ryan

Leinster will be buoyed by the return of several of their Ireland Wolfhounds contingent for the Magners League clash with Aironi.

Isaac Boss, David Kearney, Eoin O'Malley and Dominic Ryan are all involved in the 22 after helping the Irish to victory over England.

Leinster also have Devin Toner and Kevin McLaughlin available after being released from Ireland's extended squad.

Isa Nacewa, Richardt Strauss and Heinke van der Merwe are also in the mix alongside Andrew Conway, who has scored six tries in five British and Irish Cup clashes.

Aironi have made several changes for Thursday's encounter in Dublin.

Paolo Buso, Kaine Robertson, Danwel Demas, Gabriel Pizarro, Horacio San Martin and Nick Williams are among those called in, with the Italians hit hard by international call-ups.

Form: This match is the first meeting between the two teams. Leinster have won their last six matches in all competitions, since their 13-20 reversal against Clermont in the Heineken Cup on December 12. The Leinstermen's only defeat in the Magners League since September was 15-19 at the Ospreys on November 28. Aironi's only victory this season came at home to Biarritz in the Heineken Cup on December 11. Aironi are still without a point from any game played outside of Italy.

The teams:

Leinster: 15 Isa Nacewa, 14 Andrew Conway, 13 Brendan Macken, 12 Eoin O'Malley, 11 David Kearney, 10 Ian Madigan, 9 Paul O'Donohoe, 8 Stephen Keogh, 7 Dominic Ryan, 6 Rhys Ruddock (capt), 5 Devin Toner, 4 Kevin McLaughlin, 3 Clint Newland, 2 Richardt Strauss, 1 Heinke van der Merwe.
Replacements: 16 Jason Harris-Wright, 17 Jack McGrath, 18 Simon Shawe, 19 Ed O'Donoghue, 20 Paul Ryan/Shane Jennings, 21 Isaac Boss, 22 Ian McKinley, 23 Niall Morris.

Aironi: 15 Paolo Buso; 14 Kaine Robertson, 13 Gabriel Pizarro, 12 Horacio San Martin, 11 Danwel Demas; 10 James Marshall, 9 Tito Tebald, 8 Nick Williams. 7 Jaco Erasmus, 6 Nicola Cattina, 5 Joshua Furno, 4 Marco Bortolami (c), 3 Fabio Staibano, 2 Roberto Santamaria, 1 Alberto De Marchi,.
Replacements: 16 Luigi Ferraro, 17 Andrea De Marchi, 18 Luca Redolfini, 19 George Biagi, 20 Andrea Benatti, 21 Pietro Travagli, 22 Alberto Benettin, 23 Matteo Pratichetti.

Date: Thursday, 10 February
Venue: RDS, Dublin
Kick-off: 19:05 GMT
Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant referees: David Wilkinson (Ireland), Mark Hermin (Ireland)
Television match official: Peter Ferguson (Ireland)