Planet Rugby

Exeter

Exeter

Mumm craves big finish

07th May 2014 12:02

Share:

dean mumm exeter chiefs

Hungry: Dean Mumm

Exeter lock Dean Mumm is craving a big finish to their season after having missed out on qualification for next term's European Champions Cup.

Last week's loss to Harlequins meant Wasps would be assured the all-important seventh spot in the table with just one game left in 2013/14.

On Saturday they face Newcastle and for Mumm this allows them to take out their frustrations on the Falcons as they seek a double against them.

"It was disappointing to lose, especially as we had the lead all game and then dropped it with three or four minutes to go," he said on Sunday.

"There have been a few games like that but the positives are that when we're right mentally we are not far away from the top teams. Saracens at home, Harlequins at home - they're the teams that look like they'll be playing in the semi-finals and that's where we want to be. When we're on mentally we can match them.

"There's one game to go and we want to carry that mental aspect and intensity through. You want to finish with a little bit of a flourish in how you play. Newcastle will be fighting hard for it but there's an opportunity to finish with a win so we'll be right up for that game."

  • Exeter Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Friday , September 19
Gloucester vs ExeterGloucester vs Exeter Preview
Sunday , September 28
Exeter vs Harlequins14:00
Sunday , October 5
Newcastle vs Exeter15:00
Saturday , October 11
Exeter vs London Irish15:00
Saturday , November 15
Northampton vs Exeter15:00
Saturday , November 22
Exeter vs Wasps15:00
Saturday , November 29
Exeter vs Saracens15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Exeter vs Gloucester15:00
Saturday , November 8
Exeter vs Bath15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 18
Bayonne vs Exeter19:00
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Exeter Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , September 13
Exeter 20 - 24 LeicesterExeter vs Leicester Report
Sunday , September 7
London Welsh 0 - 52 ExeterLondon Welsh vs Exeter Report
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
2Bath29
3Leicester Tigers29
4Exeter26
5Northampton26
6Wasps25