Planet Rugby

Exeter

Exeter

Exeter waiting on Nowell scan

28th March 2014 07:08

Share:

jack nowell exeter leicester

Shoulder knock: Jack Nowell

Exeter Chiefs head coach Rob Baxter says the club are still waiting on scan results to ascertain the full extent of an injury to winger Jack Nowell.

The 20-year-old England international was forced to come off at half-time during last Sunday's Aviva Premiership defeat at Leicester Tigers with a shoulder injury sustained following a collision with home prop Logovii Mulipola.

Baxter confirmed in his weekly media briefly that the club's medical team have been monitoring closely Nowell's condition and that the Cornishman has been sent for a full assessment this week.

With Gloucester due to arrive at Sandy Park this Saturday for a crunch top flight encounter, Baxter has admitted it's unlikely the talented back will be fit for duty.

"We're having some scans and some work done on his shoulder just to assess the damage," said Baxter.

"Obviously we're hoping it's not too serious. Nothing particularly has shown up yet but it looks a doubt that he'll be fit for this weekend.

"We haven't found any muscle tears or whatever yet, but he has to have another set of scans to assess fully what's going on around his shoulder and neck.

"We've got a week off next week, and by the time we get to the end of next week we'll know exactly where we are with him."

  • Exeter Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Friday , November 14
Northampton vs Exeter19:45
Saturday , November 22
Exeter vs Wasps15:00
Saturday , November 29
Exeter vs Saracens16:30
Saturday , December 20
Sale vs Exeter14:00
Saturday , December 27
Bath vs Exeter15:00
Saturday , January 3
Exeter vs Gloucester15:00
Sunday , January 11
London Irish vs Exeter15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Exeter vs Gloucester15:00
Saturday , November 8
Exeter vs Bath16:30
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Thursday , December 4
La Rochelle vs Exeter19:45
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Exeter Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 25
Exeter 33 - 13 Connacht
Saturday , October 18
Bayonne 30 - 24 Exeter
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Exeter 44 - 24 London IrishExeter vs London Irish Report
Sunday , October 5
Newcastle 29 - 24 Exeter
Sunday , September 28
Exeter 36 - 13 Harlequins
Friday , September 19
Gloucester 22 - 25 Exeter
Saturday , September 13
Exeter 20 - 24 Leicester
Sunday , September 7
London Welsh 0 - 52 Exeter
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
1Northampton625
2Saracens622
3Exeter620
4Bath620
5Wasps615