Planet Rugby

Exeter

Exeter

LV= Cup wrap: Irish beat Sale

11th November 2012 17:48

Share:

Shane Geraghty Conor Gaston London irish

Try-scorer: Shane Geraghty

London Irish got their 2012/13 LV= Cup campaign off to a winning start as they overcame Premiership rivals Sale 34-28 at the Madejski Stadium on Sunday.

Matt Garvey (2), George Skivington and Shane Geraghty scored tries, while Ian Humphreys slotted two penalties and converted four tries.

In reply, Sale's try scorers were Dwayne Peel and Danny Cipriani while Charlie Amesbury crossed late on for a consolation effort in Reading.

Sunday's other game saw Exeter teach London Welsh a lesson as Will Carrick-Smith, Mark Foster, Jack Nowell and Nic Sestaret (2) scored tries to Welsh pivot Gordon Ross' five penalties.

Results:
London Irish 32-28 Sale Sharks
London Welsh 15-42 Exeter Chiefs

  • Exeter Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , September 28
Exeter vs Harlequins14:00
Sunday , October 5
Newcastle vs Exeter15:00
Saturday , October 11
Exeter vs London Irish15:00
Saturday , November 15
Northampton vs Exeter15:00
Saturday , November 22
Exeter vs Wasps15:00
Saturday , November 29
Exeter vs Saracens16:30
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Exeter vs Gloucester15:00
Saturday , November 8
Exeter vs Bath15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 18
Bayonne vs Exeter19:00
Saturday , October 25
Exeter vs Connacht15:00
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Exeter Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Friday , September 19
Gloucester 22 - 25 ExeterGloucester vs Exeter Report
Saturday , September 13
Exeter 20 - 24 LeicesterExeter vs Leicester Report
Sunday , September 7
London Welsh 0 - 52 ExeterLondon Welsh vs Exeter Report
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
1Exeter310
2Saracens29
3Bath29
4Leicester Tigers29
5Northampton26