Planet Rugby

Exeter

Exeter

Challenge Cup: Toulon & Exeter qualify

21st January 2012 18:42

Share:

James Phillips Exeter Chiefs scores v Perpignan

James Phillips scores for Exeter

Exeter booked their place in the Amlin Challenge Cup last-eight on Saturday with a convincing win over Perpignan.

Toulon joined them in the last eight after putting 50 past Petrarca while Newcastle lost in Lyon.

In the late game, Stade Franšais made sure of their top spot finish in Pool 1 by defeating Worcester 33-10, with their tries scored by Paul Warwick, Sergio Parisse, Morgan Turinui, Paul Sackey and veteran replacement Byron Kelleher.

Worcester conceded three first-half tries at Stade Charlety, and despite a superb individual score from Andy Goode early in the second-half, the hosts had the bonus secured before the hour.

Results:

Exeter Chiefs 31-14 Perpignan
Dragons 45-16 I Cavalieri Prato
Lyon 21-13 Newcastle Falcons
Petrarca 6-50 Toulon
Bucharest Wolves 26-13 Banca Monte Crociati
Stade Franšais 33-10 Worcester


Exeter Chiefs 31 - 14 Perpignan

Exeter claimed an historic win to qualify for their first appearance in a European last-eight.

The Chiefs made the worst possible start to the clash as Perpignan clinched early tries from Charles Geli and Joffrey Michel to surge into a 14-0 lead within 10 minutes of kick-off

But Exteter turned the game around thanks to the boot of Ignacio Mieres and a Hayden Thomas try. Brett Sturgess and James Phillips then grabbed second-half touchdowns to seal the win and qualification to the knockout stages.

Rob Baxter's men will have to wait until Wasps' clash with Bordeaux-Begles on Sunday to learn if they have done enough for a home quarter-final.


  • Exeter Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Friday , November 14
Northampton vs Exeter19:45
Saturday , November 22
Exeter vs Wasps15:00
Saturday , November 29
Exeter vs Saracens16:30
Saturday , December 20
Sale vs Exeter14:00
Saturday , December 27
Bath vs Exeter15:00
Saturday , January 3
Exeter vs Gloucester15:00
Sunday , January 11
London Irish vs Exeter15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Exeter vs Gloucester15:00
Saturday , November 8
Exeter vs Bath16:30
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 25
Exeter vs Connacht15:00
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Exeter Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 18
Bayonne 30 - 24 Exeter
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Exeter 44 - 24 London IrishExeter vs London Irish Report
Sunday , October 5
Newcastle 29 - 24 ExeterNewcastle vs Exeter Report
Sunday , September 28
Exeter 36 - 13 Harlequins
Friday , September 19
Gloucester 22 - 25 Exeter
Saturday , September 13
Exeter 20 - 24 Leicester
Sunday , September 7
London Welsh 0 - 52 Exeter
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
1Northampton625
2Saracens622
3Exeter620
4Bath620
5Wasps615