Planet Rugby

Ulster

Ulster

Cave worried about Ireland spot

05th August 2014 08:45

Share:

Darren Cave Ulster HEC 2013

Concerned: Darren Cave

Ulster centre Darren Cave is worried that he did not perform well enough for Ireland during their recent Tests against Argentina.

Cave only made four starts for Ireland between 2009 and 2013, but delivered an impressive performance when he started at outside centre in Ireland's 29-17 win over los Pumas in their first Test in Resistencia during June.

He was moved to the number 12 jersey for the second Test in Tucumán - which Ireland won 23-17 - but delivered a more subdued performance and he admits that he is concerned about his future at Test level.

"A lot of my caps have come in semi-depleted Irish teams, almost glorified Irish Wolfhound or 'A' teams," he told thescore.ie

"So it was nice to play alongside your Paul O'Connells, Jonny Sextons and that.

"I thought in the first Test I played pretty well, I was very happy with how it went.

"In the second Test, I didn't think I played badly, I just felt afterwards that it would have been nice to have given a wee bit more, to make people say, 'he should be involved in November.'"

  • Ulster Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Leicester vs Ulster19:45
Saturday , October 25
Ulster vs Toulon13:00
Saturday , December 6
Ulster vs ScarletsTBC
Saturday , December 13
Scarlets vs UlsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Friday , October 3
Ulster vs Edinburgh19:35
Saturday , October 11
Ulster vs Glasgow17:05
Saturday , November 1
Ulster vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
Friday , November 21
Ulster vs Ospreys19:35
Friday , November 28
Munster vs Ulster19:35
Saturday , December 20
Ospreys vs Ulster17:15
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Ulster Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , September 27
Zebre 13 - 6 UlsterZebre vs Ulster Report
Friday , September 19
Cardiff Blues 9 - 26 UlsterCardiff Blues vs Ulster Report
Friday , September 12
Ulster 33 - 13 Zebre
Saturday , September 6
Scarlets 32 - 32 Ulster
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 5
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Ulster626
2Leicester Tigers621
3Montpellier611
4Treviso60