Planet Rugby

Ulster

Ulster

Ulster stunned by Humphreys exit

09th June 2014 07:00

Share:

ulster shane logan david humphreys

Amicable: Logan & Humphreys

Ulster CEO Shane Logan admits the departure of director of rugby David Humphreys was a shock, but the province wouldn't stop him.

Humphreys announced on Saturday that he would be leaving Ulster after decades of service as a player and coach, heading to the Aviva Premiership to take over at Gloucester.

The former Ireland fly-half will replace the sacked boss Nigel Davies at Kingsholm and work with an impressive squad including last week's signing James Hook, with Logan highlighting his success with Ulster when it came to recruitment.

While admitting to being 'taken aback' by the news from Humphreys on Saturday, Logan added that Ulster would never stand in the way of his ambitions.

"His recruitment and retention of players at Ulster was second to none in Europe," Logan told the Irish Examiner.

"He's always been very successful and has great morals and humility. I think his skill set fitted perfectly well with the people we've got at the club.

"I don't think we tried to do anything [to stop him].

"I think David has been consistent over the years that he wants his career to advance.

"We've had a joint career plan. Part of that has been to advance excellent levels of success and a really good legacy here.

"We wouldn't stand in David's way."

Ulster must now begin the process of finding a successor for Humphreys ahead of next season.

  • Ulster Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Ulster vs ToulonUlster vs Toulon Preview
Saturday , December 6
Ulster vs ScarletsTBC
Saturday , December 13
Scarlets vs UlsterTBC
Saturday , January 17
Toulon vs UlsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Ulster vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:35
Friday , November 21
Ulster vs Ospreys19:35
Friday , November 28
Munster vs Ulster19:35
Saturday , December 20
Ospreys vs Ulster17:15
Saturday , December 27
Ulster vs ConnachtTBC
Saturday , January 3
Leinster vs Ulster14:40
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Ulster Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Leicester 25 - 18 UlsterLeicester vs Ulster Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Ulster 29 - 9 GlasgowUlster vs Glasgow Report
Friday , October 3
Ulster 30 - 0 Edinburgh
Saturday , September 27
Zebre 13 - 6 Ulster
Friday , September 19
Cardiff Blues 9 - 26 Ulster
Friday , September 12
Ulster 33 - 13 Zebre
Saturday , September 6
Scarlets 32 - 32 Ulster
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 3
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Toulon14
2Leicester Tigers14
3Ulster11
4Scarlets10