Planet Rugby

Ulster

Ulster

Payne suspended for two weeks

09th April 2014 14:02

Share:

jared payne ulster saracens

Dangerous: Jared Payne

Ulster full-back Jared Payne has been suspended for two weeks for his dangerous tackle on Saracens full-back Alex Goode.

Payne has been suspended following an independent Disciplinary Hearing in Dublin on Wednesday arising from the Heineken Cup quarter-final match against Saracens at Ravenhill last Saturday.

Payne was shown a red card by referee Jerome Garces in the 5th minute of the match for an alleged dangerous charge on Goode, in contravention of Law 10.4(i)

Law 10.4(i) Tackling, tapping, pushing or pulling an opponent jumping for the ball in open play

Under the IRB Sanctions for Foul Play, Law 10.4(i) carries the following sanction entry points: Low End: three weeks; Mid-Range: six weeks; Top End: 12 to 52 weeks.

The independent Judicial Officer, Simon Thomas (Wales), heard evidence and submissions from Payne, Ulster director of rugby, David Humphreys, and Team Manager, David Millar, as well as from ERC Disciplinary Officer, Roger O'Connor.

In upholding the red card decision, the Judicial Officer determined that Payne had committed a reckless act and concluded that the offence was at the low end of the IRB sanctions for offences of this nature and selected three weeks as the appropriate entry point.

As there were no aggravating factors, and taking into account the player's clean disciplinary record and his exemplary conduct at the hearing, the Judicial Officer reduced the sanction by the maximum of one week and imposed a suspension of two weeks.

He commented that the case had been a particularly challenging one and conveyed his thanks to the Ulster representatives for the quality of their defence during the hearing.

Payne is free to play on Monday, 21 April.

  • Ulster Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Ulster vs ToulonUlster vs Toulon Preview
Saturday , December 6
Ulster vs ScarletsTBC
Saturday , December 13
Scarlets vs UlsterTBC
Saturday , January 17
Toulon vs UlsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Ulster vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:35
Friday , November 21
Ulster vs Ospreys19:35
Friday , November 28
Munster vs Ulster19:35
Saturday , December 20
Ospreys vs Ulster17:15
Saturday , December 27
Ulster vs ConnachtTBC
Saturday , January 3
Leinster vs Ulster14:40
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Ulster Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Leicester 25 - 18 UlsterLeicester vs Ulster Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Ulster 29 - 9 GlasgowUlster vs Glasgow Report
Friday , October 3
Ulster 30 - 0 Edinburgh
Saturday , September 27
Zebre 13 - 6 Ulster
Friday , September 19
Cardiff Blues 9 - 26 Ulster
Friday , September 12
Ulster 33 - 13 Zebre
Saturday , September 6
Scarlets 32 - 32 Ulster
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 3
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Toulon14
2Leicester Tigers14
3Ulster11
4Scarlets10