Planet Rugby

Ulster

Ulster

At worst it was yellow - Anscombe

06th April 2014 09:23

Share:

Ulster fans at Ravenhill in Heineken Cup

Unfortunate: Mark Anscombe

Ulster coach Mark Anscombe felt full-back Jared Payne should have been shown a yellow card instead of being sent-off against Saracens on Saturday.

Payne was sent off in the fourth minute for taking out opposite number Alex Goode in the air, with French referee Jérôme Garcès showing him red.

And that left a disappointed coach wondering what might have been as Ulster once again bow out of the European competition at this stage.

"When you lose a pretty important player five minutes into the game, you're always going to have your backs to the wall," Anscombe said.

"It's unfortunate. It was a collision in the air and did it warrant a red card? I think we're pretty hard done by there.

"Sometimes I think with these it's the emotion of the injury (that) creates the penalty, and I think at worst it was a yellow card. To have a red card four minutes into the game meant we were always going to be chasing our tails.

"I've got to take my hat off to the boys to hang in there and, to actually be taking the game to them and trailing 17-15 in the 80th minute, we've got to be really proud of their effort.

"Jared, the whole time, had his eyes on the ball. I mean, how's that a red card? I think that's the emotion of the injury," Anscombe added.

"You saw how difficult it was as, a couple of the tries they scored, we had numbers down. We went to the break at 9-5, which was a pretty good feat, and to keep it so close at the end... but that's the way it goes at times."

  • Ulster Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Ulster vs ToulonUlster vs Toulon Preview
Saturday , December 6
Ulster vs ScarletsTBC
Saturday , December 13
Scarlets vs UlsterTBC
Saturday , January 17
Toulon vs UlsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Ulster vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:35
Friday , November 21
Ulster vs Ospreys19:35
Friday , November 28
Munster vs Ulster19:35
Saturday , December 20
Ospreys vs Ulster17:15
Saturday , December 27
Ulster vs ConnachtTBC
Saturday , January 3
Leinster vs Ulster14:40
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Ulster Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Leicester 25 - 18 UlsterLeicester vs Ulster Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Ulster 29 - 9 GlasgowUlster vs Glasgow Report
Friday , October 3
Ulster 30 - 0 Edinburgh
Saturday , September 27
Zebre 13 - 6 Ulster
Friday , September 19
Cardiff Blues 9 - 26 Ulster
Friday , September 12
Ulster 33 - 13 Zebre
Saturday , September 6
Scarlets 32 - 32 Ulster
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 3
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Toulon14
2Leicester Tigers14
3Ulster11
4Scarlets10