Planet Rugby

Ulster

Ulster

Major concussion worry for Marshall

03rd March 2014 10:20

Share:

SKY_MOBILE Luke Marshall Ireland November Tests

Multiple blows: Luke Marshall

Ireland and Ulster centre Luke Marshall suffered another concussion during Friday's win over the Dragons, his fourth within a year.

The 23-year-old started for Ireland in their opening Six Nations win over Scotland, but has since lost his place to veteran Gordon D'Arcy.

Playing in Ulster's 38-8 victory at Ravenhill, Marshall sustained his fourth concussion in less than 12 months, raising alarm over his future participation in the sport.

A talented inside centre who appears to be Ireland's long-term option in the position, the Ulster medical team will manager Marshall through the return to play protocols this week.

However with so many concussions sustained within such a small period of time, Marshall may have to make a serious decision regarding his future at some stage this season.

Marshall missed Ireland's tour to North America last year after having suffered three concussions in three consecutive games, during the final two matches of last year's Six Nations and in the Heineken Cup semi-final loss to Saracens.

  • Ulster Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Leicester vs Ulster19:45
Saturday , October 25
Ulster vs Toulon13:00
Saturday , December 6
Ulster vs ScarletsTBC
Saturday , December 13
Scarlets vs UlsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , September 27
Zebre vs Ulster15:00
Friday , October 3
Ulster vs Edinburgh19:35
Saturday , October 11
Ulster vs Glasgow17:05
Saturday , November 1
Ulster vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
Friday , November 21
Ulster vs Ospreys19:35
Friday , November 28
Munster vs Ulster19:35
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Ulster Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , September 19
Cardiff Blues 9 - 26 UlsterCardiff Blues vs Ulster Report
Friday , September 12
Ulster 33 - 13 ZebreUlster vs Zebre Report
Saturday , September 6
Scarlets 32 - 32 Ulster
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 5
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Ulster626
2Leicester Tigers621
3Montpellier611
4Treviso60