Planet Rugby

Ospreys

Ospreys

Jones deal hits stumbling block

01st April 2014 09:17

Share:

Adam Jones close up and side on

Wants to play on: Adam Jones

Talks over the future of veteran Wales tighthead Adam Jones have reportedly been slowed due to him apparently being eager to play on after RWC 2015.

WalesOnline believe that the 33-year-old was set to call time on his career after the tournament, but a source close to them has now said otherwise.

"It has now transpired Adam wants to play on after the World Cup and wants a longer [Union] deal," the source explained to the Welsh website.

"It has created some confusion because Adam had previously said he planned on retiring from international rugby following the conclusion of the tournament, in October next year."

Sam Warburton has already put pen to paper on a central contract with the Welsh Rugby Union but Leigh Halfpenny opted to join Top 14 big spenders Toulon from next season. Tighthead prop Jones is one of the names the Welsh Regions wanted secured ahead of next year's showpiece.

  • Ospreys Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 19
Ospreys vs Benetton Treviso13:00
Saturday , October 25
Northampton vs Ospreys17:15
Saturday , December 6
Ospreys vs Racing Metro 92TBC
Saturday , December 13
Racing Metro 92 vs OspreysTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons15:00
Saturday , November 8
Ospreys vs Saracens15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Sunday , September 21
Ospreys vs EdinburghOspreys vs Edinburgh Preview
Saturday , September 27
Munster vs Ospreys18:30
Friday , October 3
Zebre vs Ospreys19:35
Sunday , October 12
Ospreys vs Cardiff Blues16:00
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Ospreys Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , September 12
Newport Gwent D'gons 15 - 17 OspreysNewport Gwent D
Friday , September 5
Ospreys 44 - 13 Benetton TrevisoOspreys vs Benetton Treviso Report
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 1
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Leinster622
2Northampton617
3Castres69
4Ospreys65