Planet Rugby

Scarlets

Scarlets

Easterby to coach Ireland forwards?

02nd July 2014 09:28

Share:

Simon Easterby Scarlets coach 2013

Simon Easterby: Joining Ireland staff?

According to reports in the Irish press, Scarlets coach Simon Easterby is on the verge of being appointed as Ireland's forwards coach.

The Irish Independent claims that 38-year-old Easterby is close to agreeing a deal to replace John Plumtree, who will coach the Hurricanes in 2015.

The 65-cap former Ireland international is believed to be in line to take up the role before the November Tests.

It is unclear whether Easterby would be able to combine the role with job in Llanelli, but with Ireland head coach Schmidt's other assistant Les Kiss is taking a temporary post at helm of Ulster, it is likely that Easterby will be required full-time.

  • Scarlets Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , December 6
Ulster vs ScarletsTBC
Saturday , December 13
Scarlets vs UlsterTBC
Saturday , January 17
Leicester vs ScarletsTBC
Saturday , January 24
Scarlets vs ToulonTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
LV= Cup
Friday , November 7
Scarlets vs Northampton19:30
Friday , November 14
Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets19:30
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Scarlets vs Zebre18:00
Friday , November 21
Scarlets vs Glasgow19:35
Saturday , November 29
Connacht vs Scarlets19:30
Friday , December 19
Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets19:35
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Scarlets Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Scarlets 15 - 3 LeicesterScarlets vs Leicester Report
Sunday , October 19
Toulon 28 - 18 ScarletsToulon vs Scarlets Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Friday , October 10
Munster 17 - 6 Scarlets
Sunday , October 5
Scarlets 26 - 13 Newport Gwent D'gons
Friday , September 26
Edinburgh 20 - 20 Scarlets
Saturday , September 20
Scarlets 43 - 0 Benetton Treviso
Saturday , September 13
Leinster 42 - 12 Scarlets
Saturday , September 6
Scarlets 32 - 32 Ulster
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 3
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Toulon28
2Scarlets24
3Leicester Tigers24
4Ulster21