Planet Rugby

Scarlets

Scarlets

Scarlets linked with Hala'ufia

04th March 2014 09:21

Share:

SKY_MOBILE Chris Halaufia - London Irish

Veteran: Chris Hala'ufia

London Irish's Tongan number eight Chris Hala'ufia seems set to make a switch to Wales and join the Scarlets next season.

The 35-year-old has a chequered disciplinary record but remains an effective ball carrier, although he has seen less time with the Exiles this season.

Irish have already recruited number eights Tom Guest and Luke Narraway to add to their back-row for 2014/2015, which already includes Scotland international Kieran Low and Samoan flanker Ofisa Treviranus.

Hala'ufia is out of contract at the end of the season and had been expected to either move to France or retire, but he was spotted at Parc y Scarlets last weekend watching the Scarlets defeat Munster 18-13.

Hala'ufia would seem to be a direct replacement in the Scarlets' back-row for Wales international Josh Turnbull, who is joining Cardiff Blues.

  • Scarlets Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 19
Toulon vs Scarlets15:15
Saturday , October 25
Scarlets vs Leicester19:45
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets15:00
Saturday , November 8
Scarlets vs Northampton15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , September 6
Scarlets vs Ulster14:40
Saturday , September 13
Leinster vs Scarlets14:40
Saturday , September 20
Scarlets vs Benetton TrevisoTBC
Friday , September 26
Edinburgh vs Scarlets19:35
Sunday , October 5
Scarlets vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Friday , October 10
Munster vs Scarlets19:35
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Table
Pool 4
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Clermont Auvergne624
2Harlequins616
3Scarlets611
4Racing Metro Paris67