Planet Rugby

Scarlets

Scarlets

Scarlets edge out Cardiff Blues

21st December 2012 21:00

Share:

Aled Thomas Scarlets Lv

Nine points: Aled Thomas

Three penalties from Aled Thomas gave the Scarlets a 9-6 victory over Cardiff Blues at Arms Park on Friday in the RaboDirect Pro12.

Stand-off Thomas slotted three penalties in the first half to ensure the Scarlets remained in second place in the league table.

Thomas was on target twice in the first 10 minutes to give the visitors a flying start at the Arms Park.

His opposite number Rhys Patchell got Cardiff on the board with a 16th-minute penalty.

The Scarlets edged 9-3 in front just before half-time thanks to Thomas' third successful kick.

Patchell cut Cardiff's deficit to three points with his second penalty in the 58th minute but the Scarlets' defence held firm throughout the final quarter to close out their first win in four matches.

The scorers:

For Cardiff Blues:
Pens: Patchell 2

For Scarlets:
Pens: Thomas 3

Cardiff Blues: 15 Jason Tovey, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Gavin Evans, 12 Dafydd Hewitt, 11 Harry Robinson, 10 Rhys Patchell, 9 Lewis Jones, 8 Andries Preotrius (c), 7 Sam Warburton, 6 Josh Navidi, 5 James Down, 4 Bradley Davies, 3 Scott Andrews, 2 Marc Breeze, 1 Taufa'ao Filise.
Replacements: 16 Rhys Williams, 17 Sam Hobbs, 18 Benoit Bourrust, 19 Macauley Cook, 20 Robin Copeland, 21 Alex Walker, 22 Ceri Sweeney, 23 Owen Williams.

Scarlets: 15 Liam Williams, 14 George North, 13 Jonathan Davies (capt), 12 Scott Williams, 11 Andy Fenby, 10 Aled Thomas, 9 Tavis Knoyle, 8 Kieran Murphy, 7 Aaron Shingler, 6 Josh Turnbull, 5 Johan Snyman, 4 George Earle, 3 Samson Lee, 2 Emyr Phillips, 1 Phil John.
Replacements: 16 Matthew Rees, 17 Rhodri Jones, 18 Deacon Manu, 19 Sione Timani, 20 Johnathan Edwards, 21 Gareth Davies, 22 Gareth Owen, 23 Gareth Maule.

  • Scarlets Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , December 6
Ulster vs Scarlets19:45
Sunday , December 14
Scarlets vs Ulster17:15
Saturday , January 17
Leicester vs ScarletsTBC
Saturday , January 24
Scarlets vs ToulonTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , January 31
Scarlets vs London Irish15:00
Saturday , February 7
Sale vs Scarlets15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 29
Connacht vs Scarlets19:30
Friday , December 19
Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets19:35
Saturday , December 27
Ospreys vs Scarlets17:15
Saturday , January 3
Scarlets vs Ospreys17:05
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
  • Scarlets Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , November 21
Scarlets 19 - 9 Glasgow WarriorsScarlets vs Glasgow Warriors Report
More Guinness PRO12 results
LV= Cup
Friday , November 14
Cardiff Blues 19 - 13 Scarlets
Friday , November 7
Scarlets 7 - 24 Northampton
More LV= Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Scarlets 28 - 13 Zebre
More Guinness PRO12 results
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Scarlets 15 - 3 Leicester
Sunday , October 19
Toulon 28 - 18 Scarlets
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Friday , October 10
Munster 17 - 6 Scarlets
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Pool 3
European Rugby Champions Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Toulon28
2Scarlets24
3Leicester Tigers24
4Ulster21