Planet Rugby

Dragons

Dragons

Byrne shocked by Dragons captaincy

18th August 2014 11:48

Share:

Newport Gwent Dragons new signing Lee Byrne admits that being appointed captain for the new season was 'a complete shock'.

The Wales full-back has returned to his homeland after a stint in France with leading Top 14 side Clermont.

One of a number of key signings including Aled Brew, Andy Powell and Brok Harris, Byrne is seen as the star recruit for the Dragons as they continue their resurgence under Lyn Jones.

Stating that initially he thought Jones was joking about the appointment, Byrne has discussed the pressure and responsibility of leading the Welsh region into the new campaign.

Byrne has taken over the captaincy from fellow Wales international Andrew Coombs.

"(The captaincy) came as a complete shock and I thought it was one of Lyn's jokes," Byrne told the South West Argus.

"It's a lot of responsibility and Andrew Coombs did a great job last year.

"It's a lot of pressure but something I am looking forward to - it's one of the biggest honours I've had along with playing for Wales and the Lions.

"It's been nine weeks of pre-season whereas in France we'd have three and they're back into the Top14 this weekend.

"It's been the longest pre-season I've had in three years - now I want to just get the ball in my hands.

"There's only so much fitness you can do and we are all looking forward to getting out there against Bristol."

  • Dragons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons15:00
Saturday , November 8
Harlequins vs Newport Gwent D'gons15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Ulster vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
Saturday , November 22
Newport Gwent D'gons vs MunsterTBC
Sunday , November 30
Glasgow vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Sunday , December 21
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Zebre16:00
Friday , December 26
Cardiff Blues vs Newport Gwent D'gons14:05
Sunday , January 11
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Wednesday, January 14
Leinster vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Newcastle19:30
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Dragons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 18
Stade Francais 22 - 38 Newport Gwent D'gons
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Edinburgh 24 - 10 Newport Gwent D'gonsEdinburgh vs Newport Gwent D
Sunday , October 5
Scarlets 26 - 13 Newport Gwent D'gonsScarlets vs Newport Gwent D
Sunday , September 28
Newport Gwent D'gons 33 - 15 Benetton Treviso
Saturday , September 20
Newport Gwent D'gons 13 - 33 Glasgow
Friday , September 12
Newport Gwent D'gons 15 - 17 Ospreys
Saturday , September 6
Connacht 16 - 11 Newport Gwent D'gons
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Group A
LV= Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Saracens416
2Gloucester410
3London Irish46
4Dragons44