Planet Rugby

Dragons

Dragons

Gloucester win Premiership Rugby 7s

09th August 2014 10:49

Share:

Gloucester player Steph Reynolds

Starred: Steph Reynolds

Gloucester wrapped up back-to-back Premiership Rugby 7s titles on Friday as they overcame the Dragons in the final played at the Twickenham Stoop.

Steph Reynolds was the star of the show as the Cherry and Whites beat Northampton, Cardiff Blues and then the Dragons in the big finale.

Reynolds and Henry Purdy scored in the 12-5 result, with the next competition on their radar being Saturday's World Club 7s at Twickenham.

"Hopefully we can take this momentum and confidence into the World Club 7s," said head coach Olly Morgan, looking ahead to next week.

"We'll be losing a few players to the first team but it's a chance for the even younger guys to make a name for themselves.

"It will be a tough task for the boys but we'll see what squad we've got and I'm confident in their abilities.

"It's a huge achievement for the club to get the first piece of silverware of the season. Whether it was back-to-back or not it didn't really matter, it's the fact that it's a new management, a new set-up and new players and hopefully this sets us up for a successful season.

"I always believed this side was capable of defending the trophy. I saw the way we train and the way we played in the group stages and saw the other games and it was the tournament that we could win if we played to our patterns and our strengths."

  • Dragons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
LV= Cup
Friday , November 7
Harlequins vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:45
Friday , November 14
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:35
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Ulster vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:35
Friday , November 21
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Munster19:30
Sunday , November 30
Glasgow vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Sunday , December 21
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Zebre16:00
Friday , December 26
Cardiff Blues vs Newport Gwent D'gons14:05
Sunday , January 11
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Wednesday, January 14
Leinster vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Bucuresti vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Dragons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Newport Gwent D'gons 26 - 30 Newcastle
Saturday , October 18
Stade Francais 22 - 38 Newport Gwent D'gons
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Edinburgh 24 - 10 Newport Gwent D'gonsEdinburgh vs Newport Gwent D
Sunday , October 5
Scarlets 26 - 13 Newport Gwent D'gons
Sunday , September 28
Newport Gwent D'gons 33 - 15 Benetton Treviso
Saturday , September 20
Newport Gwent D'gons 13 - 33 Glasgow
Friday , September 12
Newport Gwent D'gons 15 - 17 Ospreys
Saturday , September 6
Connacht 16 - 11 Newport Gwent D'gons
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Group A
LV= Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Saracens416
2Gloucester410
3London Irish46
4Dragons44