Planet Rugby

Dragons

Dragons

Byrne to captain Dragons

31st July 2014 09:01

Share:

Lee Byrne Clermont v Quins HEC 2013

Captain: Lee Byrne

The Dragons have announced that full-back Lee Byrne will captain the squad in the upcoming Guinness PRO12, replacing Andrew Coombs.

Byrne, who joined Rodney Parade from Clermont in the off-season, said "it is probably one of the best pieces of news that I have ever had."

"Throughout my rugby career I have had both highs and lows, and this for me is right up there in the highs," he told the Dragons' website.

"Becoming captain of the Dragons will be a massive challenge for me, but now it's time for us to make sure that we deliver as a team. We have been given the best of everything this season, including the squad, coaches and the new training facility.

"I want to lead by example and I hope that the youngsters can learn from my attitude and the experience that I have gained through my international career and through playing in France."

Director of rugby, Lyn Jones added: "Lee's ability as a player is outstanding; he has great leadership skills and has a lot of experience behind him."

"Andrew Coombs captained the side very well last season, but I feel that this is a season that I need apply change throughout which will also allow Andrew to focus on his international career."

  • Dragons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
LV= Cup
Friday , November 7
Harlequins vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:45
Friday , November 14
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:35
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Ulster vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:35
Friday , November 21
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Munster19:30
Sunday , November 30
Glasgow vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Sunday , December 21
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Zebre16:00
Friday , December 26
Cardiff Blues vs Newport Gwent D'gons14:05
Sunday , January 11
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Wednesday, January 14
Leinster vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Bucuresti vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Dragons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Newport Gwent D'gons 26 - 30 Newcastle
Saturday , October 18
Stade Francais 22 - 38 Newport Gwent D'gons
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Edinburgh 24 - 10 Newport Gwent D'gonsEdinburgh vs Newport Gwent D
Sunday , October 5
Scarlets 26 - 13 Newport Gwent D'gons
Sunday , September 28
Newport Gwent D'gons 33 - 15 Benetton Treviso
Saturday , September 20
Newport Gwent D'gons 13 - 33 Glasgow
Friday , September 12
Newport Gwent D'gons 15 - 17 Ospreys
Saturday , September 6
Connacht 16 - 11 Newport Gwent D'gons
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Group A
LV= Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Saracens416
2Gloucester410
3London Irish46
4Dragons44