Planet Rugby

Dragons

Dragons

Powell 'like a racehorse' for Dragons

24th June 2014 09:58

Share:

Andy Powell 2014

Statement: Andy Powell

Dragons back-row signing Andy Powell is fired up to prove his doubters wrong when he runs out for his new club next season.

The former Wales and Lions number eight has returned to Union after an unsuccessful spell in Super League with Wigan.

Snapped up by the Dragons, who impressed last season under the guidance of Lyn Jones, Powell is determined to show he can still make an impact at 32.

"I've got loads left in the tank, believe me. I had eight months of doing nothing because of my neck injury but give me four weeks and I'll be chomping at the bit and out there like a racehorse," Powell told the South Wales Argus.

"I have been around for a while and a lot of people say I'm too old, but there's no chance of that. I still feel young, fit, fast and powerful.

"A lot of people can knock you but I'm looking forward to the challenge here and proving them wrong.

"I'm not looking back, I want to make an impact here and show my qualities."

Powell isn't getting too far ahead of himself, admitting that there will be a battle for places in a back-row that also features number eights Taulupe Faletau and Netani Talei.

"Ball carrying is my biggest asset but I've been brought in for my work rate, skill set, offloading and all-round game," added Powell.

"I'm looking forward to the competition for places and I'm not going to be sitting back - I want that start, wherever it is in the back row. That's the attitude that Kingsley and Lyn (Jones, coaches) want from every individual in the squad."

  • Dragons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
LV= Cup
Saturday , January 31
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Exeter15:00
Saturday , February 7
Newport Gwent D'gons vs London Welsh15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Sunday , November 30
Glasgow vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Sunday , December 21
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Zebre16:00
Friday , December 26
Cardiff Blues vs Newport Gwent D'gons14:05
Thursday , January 1
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Cardiff Blues14:05
Sunday , January 11
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Wednesday, January 14
Leinster vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
Saturday , February 21
Newport Gwent D'gons vs ConnachtTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Bucuresti vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Dragons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Guinness PRO12
Friday , November 21
Dragons 12 - 38 MunsterDragons vs Munster Report
More Guinness PRO12 results
LV= Cup
Friday , November 14
Ospreys 35 - 51 DragonsOspreys vs Dragons Report
Friday , November 7
Harlequins 31 - 21 Newport Gwent D'gons
More LV= Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Ulster 23 - 6 Newport Gwent D'gons
More Guinness PRO12 results
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Newport Gwent D'gons 26 - 30 Newcastle
Saturday , October 18
Stade Francais 22 - 38 Newport Gwent D'gons
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Edinburgh 24 - 10 Newport Gwent D'gons
Sunday , October 5
Scarlets 26 - 13 Newport Gwent D'gons
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Group A
LV= Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Saracens28
2Dragons25
3Bath25
4Gloucester25