Planet Rugby

Dragons

Dragons

Powell returns to Union with Dragons

11th June 2014 09:13

Share:

Andy Powell Wigan Warriors 2013

Back in Wales: Andy Powell

Former Wales loose forward Andy Powell will return to the 15-man game next season after signing with the Dragons.

The 32-year-old has inked a one-year deal with the Welsh region after changing codes to play for the Wigan Warriors last year.

A vastly experienced player, Powell has 23-Test caps and was a member of the British and Irish Lions squad in 2009.

Powell has not played since September with neck surgery ending his hopes of representing Wales at the Rugby League World Cup.

"I am extremely delighted to be back in Wales. I have very fond memories of playing for Newport RFC and can remember the great support we had from fans when I previously played for them," said the former Sale, Wasps, Cardiff Blues and Scarlets back-rower.

"I have been very impressed through the season with both Kingsley and Lyn's ambitions for the region. I am very excited for the challenges that lie ahead and look forward to challenging the other Welsh regions for silverware."

Newly-appointed Dragons head coach Kingsley Jones welcomed Powell back to Gwent.

"He has the X-Factor and brings a lot to the team dynamics not forgetting his great ball carrying skills.

"He will be coming back here to challenge the likes of Taulupe Faletau for a first team spot as well as adding experience to the squad."

  • Dragons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
LV= Cup
Friday , November 7
Harlequins vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:45
Friday , November 14
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:35
More LV= Cup fixtures
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , November 1
Ulster vs Newport Gwent D'gons19:35
Friday , November 21
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Munster19:30
Sunday , November 30
Glasgow vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Sunday , December 21
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Zebre16:00
Friday , December 26
Cardiff Blues vs Newport Gwent D'gons14:05
Sunday , January 11
Ospreys vs Newport Gwent D'gons16:00
Wednesday, January 14
Leinster vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
More Guinness PRO12 fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Bucuresti vs Newport Gwent D'gonsTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Dragons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Newport Gwent D'gons 26 - 30 Newcastle
Saturday , October 18
Stade Francais 22 - 38 Newport Gwent D'gons
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Guinness PRO12
Saturday , October 11
Edinburgh 24 - 10 Newport Gwent D'gonsEdinburgh vs Newport Gwent D
Sunday , October 5
Scarlets 26 - 13 Newport Gwent D'gons
Sunday , September 28
Newport Gwent D'gons 33 - 15 Benetton Treviso
Saturday , September 20
Newport Gwent D'gons 13 - 33 Glasgow
Friday , September 12
Newport Gwent D'gons 15 - 17 Ospreys
Saturday , September 6
Connacht 16 - 11 Newport Gwent D'gons
More Guinness PRO12 results
  • Table
Group A
LV= Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Saracens416
2Gloucester410
3London Irish46
4Dragons44